cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't signup :/

whelpton
Grafter
Posts: 104
Registered: 06-06-2011

Can't signup :/

Hey guys,
Everytime I try to select a package to check out line speeds etc... I get:
It looks like something has gone wrong - please try again. If you keep having problems get in touch
The server returned a "500 Internal Server Error".
8 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,655
Thanks: 1,060
Fixes: 59
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Can't signup :/

Are you trying to sign up as a new customer when there is already a Plusnet service on the line or use the Product Change option?
David
whelpton
Grafter
Posts: 104
Registered: 06-06-2011

Re: Can't signup :/

Tried doing both using my old staff account as the basis, I get directed to the help assistant when logged in and error 500'd when I'm not...
whelpton
Grafter
Posts: 104
Registered: 06-06-2011

Re: Can't signup :/

Right, apparently the signup wizard doesn't like the Aurora browser for some reason...
I've now hit a snag in, the signup wizard wants to charge me £50 installation no matter what option I select - Apparently:
Want free activation?
Take fibre broadband, and add one of our phone packages to get free fibre broadband activation.

Quote
Your order All prices include VAT
Today's payment
Unlimited Fibre Broadband (First month)£19.99
Promotional discount (for 6 months)- £10.00
Router P&P £5.99
Line rental (First month) £13.99
Installation charge £49.99
Talk Evenings & Weekends (First month)IncludedVoicemail (1571) (First month)Included
Today's total£79.96
Monthly payment
Unlimited Fibre Broadband£19.99
Promotional discount (for 6 months)- £10.00
Line rental£13.99
Monthly total£23.98

Can someone clarify if the setup is still free with phone product or if it can be deferred at all these days?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,655
Thanks: 1,060
Fixes: 59
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Can't signup :/

The Fibre Broadband FAQ says set up is free if the phone service is added (link).
David
whelpton
Grafter
Posts: 104
Registered: 06-06-2011

Re: Can't signup :/

Yeah that's the documentation that I was going off as well as the information on the order page, yet selecting evenings and weekends as a phone tariff still presents me with a £50 openreach setup fee!
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 51
Registered: 12-03-2011

Re: Can't signup :/

Keith, I'm pretty sure that £49.99 charge is for the phone line installation. If you take fibre broadband with calls then you don't pay for the *fibre* install but if an engineer needs to attend to install a new phone line, that would be chargeable.
whelpton
Grafter
Posts: 104
Registered: 06-06-2011

Re: Can't signup :/

Thanks Rob, I do have an smpf phone line already, would a new one need to be installed by openreach or is wlr not identifying my line properly?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 51
Registered: 12-03-2011

Re: Can't signup :/

Hi again Keith. Sorry for the delay in replying. Have you got it sorted yet? If not, drop me a PM with the phone number and a contact number for you and I'll take a look.
Rob