cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automatic Upgrade?

Leapy
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 286
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Automatic Upgrade?

Is there any such thing as an automatic upgrade for Plusnet customers? Smiley

I'm thinking as a reward for loyalty or as a prize in a competition? Wink

For example, my PN Fibre Broadband (up to 35Mbps) is capped at 23Mbps and 2Mbps, so lifting the caps, (even just a bit),could be a possible customer incentive and one day they may get nearer the potential of the capability.

The pub is two minutes from my home, although my home is two hours from the pub,
8 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 1,953
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Automatic Upgrade?

Keep on dreaming  Angel

Leapy
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 286
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Automatic Upgrade?

Someone needs to be creative and feed ideas in to the system and who knows, one day, maybe Sky, BT, or Virgin, will look at this PN forum and take the initiative and lead change for all ISPs Wink

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules.

The pub is two minutes from my home, although my home is two hours from the pub,
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Automatic Upgrade?


@Leapy wrote:

Is there any such thing as an automatic upgrade for Plusnet customers? Smiley

I'm thinking as a reward for loyalty or as a prize in a competition? Wink

For example, my PN Fibre Broadband (up to 35Mbps) is capped at 23Mbps and 2Mbps, so lifting the caps, (even just a bit),could be a possible customer incentive and one day they may get nearer the potential of the capability.


you obviously don't have an understanding of why your line is "capped" at 23Mbps.

unless Plusnet are able to bend the laws of physics then you can dream on.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,943
Thanks: 647
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Automatic Upgrade?

The 23Mbps is a limitation of the technology for your length of copper line anyway, so there would be little Plusnet could offer you for that anyway, at least until other technologies come along.

The 2Mbps possibly be increased through.

alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-10-2007

Re: Automatic Upgrade?

The max line speed is determined by what speed the your line can reliably support.

The only benefit long term customers get is to keep some services that are no longer offered, or only offered at an additional charge, to new customers. For example I still get free evening and weekend calls because they were part of the phone package when I signed up. New customers have to pay an additional monthly fee if they want this.

Leapy
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 286
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Automatic Upgrade?

chenks76 wrote:

You obviously don't have an understanding of why your line is "capped" at 23Mbps.

unless Plusnet are able to bend the laws of physics then you can dream on.


The past doesn't equal the future.Smiley 

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Quote fixed.

The pub is two minutes from my home, although my home is two hours from the pub,
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 1,953
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Automatic Upgrade?


Leapy wrote

The past doesn't equal the future.Smiley 


 

Yep! There are newer technologies being developed / deployed - BUT they cost and are unlikely to be given away as prizes as outlined in your original post

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Automatic Upgrade?


@Leapy wrote:

 


The past doesn't equal the future.Smiley 


and there is a fine line between idiocy and genius.
i'll leave it to others to decide where on the line this falls.