cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Waiting for PADO packets

Austen88
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎22-09-2022

Waiting for PADO packets

Hey, so I'm using my Plusnet hub in bridge. Every now and then the light goes orange and it drops / comes back / drops comes back. Just trying to determine when in bridge mode the Plusnet hub just acts as a medium converter or if it acts as an endpoint (if that makes sense?)

Bit of syslog if anyone is interested
Sat Jan 7 07:15:09 2023 daemon.warn pppd[4382]: Timeout waiting for PADO packets
Sat Jan 7 07:15:09 2023 daemon.err pppd[4382]: Unable to complete PPPoE Discovery
Sat Jan 7 07:15:09 2023 daemon.info pppd[4382]: Exit.
Sat Jan 7 07:15:09 2023 daemon.notice netifd: Interface 'wan' is now down
Sat Jan 7 07:15:09 2023 daemon.notice netifd: Interface 'wan' is disabled
Sat Jan 7 07:15:09 2023 daemon.notice netifd: Interface 'wan' is enabled
Sat Jan 7 07:15:09 2023 daemon.notice netifd: Interface 'wan' is setting up now
11 REPLIES 11
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,540
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

Assuming it's a Hub Two, do you have anything connected to the WAN port?

You use one of the LAN ports for the router connection.

Dan

Austen88
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎22-09-2022

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

Sorry yeah hub two.
Wan port is empty, phone line is plugged in for WAN. Lan port feeds my router via a managed switch.
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,540
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

When you say " Lan port feeds my router via a managed switch" is there a reason for this, the expected router to modem connection would be a dedicated connection.

 

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,692
Thanks: 5,201
Fixes: 418
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

@Austen88 
Deleted @Dan_the_Van got there first.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Austen88
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎22-09-2022

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

The router is run in a router on a stick configuration at the moment via an 802.1Q trunk.

I can give it a direct port but I've not had an issue with it in this configuration in the past.
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,540
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

It could be you're getting disconnects between the modem and router or DSL drops.

You can check the Hub Two logs by connecting a pc to one of the LAN ports of the Hub with an IP Address in the range of the Hub which would be 192.168.1.0/24 assuming it (the Hub) remains on the default address of 192.168.1.254.

From the home page navigate to Advanced settings > Technical log > Event log select category WAN, the time/date will be wrong as when in bridge mode it starts at 00:00 01 Oct.

HTH

 

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,887
Thanks: 4,979
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Waiting for PADO packets


@Austen88 wrote:
Just trying to determine when in bridge mode the Plusnet hub just acts as a medium converter or if it acts as an endpoint (if that makes sense?)

To answer this question, it acts as a dumb modem, so the suggestion this could be a line/DSL problem is a sensible one.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Austen88
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎22-09-2022

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

Thank you. I have a line fault open, with attendance booked for Monday but obviously want to avoid if its me at fault.

I have been out all day but just did a cable swap from modem to switch and it stayed pink. As soon as I turned on a streaming service it dropped again 😪

I'll try and get on the modem once I have the toddler down to see if there's anything relevant in sys log.
Austen88
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎22-09-2022

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

I reset my hub to default just changed the admin pw. Then plugged in a pre configured ubiquiti ap, 4-5 WiFi clients. This was after a drop, dropped.again pretty soon after, I've attached what I think is the relevant sys log.

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,540
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

The DSL down message is not what you want to see, this causes PPP link down message you noted on your router.

For a stable broadband connection it important for the phone line to clear of noise, using a landline phone you can check by dialling  17070 and taken option 2.

I see you have a line fault open so hopefully it will be resolved tomorrow.

 

HTH

Austen88
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎22-09-2022

Re: Waiting for PADO packets

Hey all thanks for the input.

Is anyone able to give me more details on this..
Fault ID: 894441

I've been told its resolved, I'm just interested in what the issue was (I work for an isp) cheers!