cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 232
Thanks: 41
Registered: ‎21-06-2007

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

forgot to mention, I unlocked it first and yes, my Deco is on LAN1 and at the moment the PC on LAN2. Internet for the PC is still on WiFi.

The process was not without problems, because of my ignorance. At first it was not connecting to plusnet. I realised that this was because there was no settings anywhere to input my name and password. Of course that's hidden in the depths of the settings of the Deco which are not pointed out when you set it up. It did raise the question that as these details are buried in the Deco settings, how is the Deco's usually configured? The default is router, but at no time do you put in your name and password.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

Hi All,
I have recently installed a HH6A on my Plusnet connection and it connectsOk to the internet with better wifi however the connection keeps dropping after every few hours consistently ( roughly every 2 hours the connection drops) and sometime even the broadband username resets itself to default and then I have to enter my creds again. It has been an even more frustrating experience Than using the PN hub 1. Any suggestions how to make the connection stable on HH6A?

Regards
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎28-05-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

I installed a business hub week ago and it's been rock solid,even the random WiFi freezes have gone. What does the logs say?
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

Hmm not sure what should I be looking at in the logs. If you can point me I can share those. The issue is the connection itself drops every 2-3 hours and also sometimes the broadband username resets itself to default. I ordered a new sealed HH6A so was hoping not to be faulty but not sure.

Regards
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,788
Thanks: 2,077
Fixes: 138
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@androidtanmay 

Two suggestions:

1. Factory reset and start again to see if it's any better.

2. Switch it off using the switch on the back, leave the mains on. Leave it a minute then switch it back on. I once had one start up in a funny mode that was corrected by doing this. I put it down to the rise time of the mains power supply screwing up the processor intialisation.

The fact that it appears to be totally resetting itself could suggest an early life failure.

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@Baldrick1

Thanks for the reply

Two suggestions:

1. Factory reset and start again to see if it's any better.

<TP> - have tried it multiple times. Both physically through the pinhole and through hub interface. Doesn’t work.

2. Switch it off using the switch on the back, leave the mains on. Leave it a minute then switch it back on. I once had one start up in a funny mode that was corrected by doing this. I put it down to the rise time of the mains power supply screwing up the processor intialisation.

<TP> Let me try this. Will inform.

The fact that it appears to be totally resetting itself could suggest an early life failure.

<TP> - Early Life Failure means what? Hardware failure? It would be a bummer as I purchased a sealed box piece 😔
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,788
Thanks: 2,077
Fixes: 138
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@androidtanmay 

If you study reliability of electronic components you will find that the failure rate of hardware follows what is known as a bathtub curve. If you draw a graph of failure rate of a large sample against time you will find that there is a relatively high number of failures in the early hours of operation followed by a long period with a low rate rising when you get towards the end of life, hence the bathtub shape.

For high reliability components it is not uncommon for the manufacturer to burn in devices. When I was working we would run high reliability equipment for at least 100 hours at high temperature.

Modern electronics will go quickly through automatic test equipment and be despatched.

I stress that I am not saying that your hub is defective, just saying that it can happen.

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@Baldrick1

Thanks for explaining and also the suggestions. The router is still dropping connections. Also it reboots itself automatically at night everyday. Not sure what is happening. 😔
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@Baldrick1

The suggestion didn’t work. The connection still gets dropped every few hours. Also it reboots everyday like clockwork around midnight. Attaching log if you can have a look and suggest.

00:05:11 28 Jun. :HTTP UserAdmin login from 192.168.1.64 successfully
00:04:34 28 Jun. BR_LAN:The DHCP options that are offered by the device (id:5): DiscoverOptions: 53 61 57 60 12 55 | DiscoverOption55: 1 3 6 15 26 28 51 58 59 43 | RequestOptions: 53 61 50 54 57 60 12 55 | RequestOption55: 1 3 6 15 26 28 51 58 59 43 | HostName: Galaxy-A5-2017 | VendorId: android-dhcp-8.0.0
00:04:34 28 Jun. :DHCP Confirmation of Request
00:04:33 28 Jun. wl0:A WiFi device <C0:D3:C0:91:2C:D5> has successfully connected to SSID (Device/WiFi/SSIDs/SSID[WL_PRIV5G])
00:04:27 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 connectivity to (pbthdm.bt.mo) has been closed
00:04:26 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 connectivity to (pbthdm.bt.mo) has been initiated
00:04:26 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 receiving InformResponse message
00:04:26 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 event found : 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
00:04:26 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 event found : 4 VALUE CHANGE
00:04:25 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 sending Inform message
00:04:25 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 event found : 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
00:04:25 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 event found : 4 VALUE CHANGE
00:04:24 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 sending Inform message
00:04:23 28 Jun. ppp1:TR69 creating new session with ACS
00:02:06 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 ConnectionRequest: processing request from ACS
00:02:06 01 Jan. ppp1:Request for a new authenticated connection
00:02:06 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 ConnectionRequest: processing request from ACS
00:02:03 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 connectivity to (pbthdm.bt.mo) has been closed
00:02:03 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 connectivity to (pbthdm.bt.mo) has been initiated
00:02:03 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 receiving InformResponse message
00:02:02 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 event found : M Reboot
00:02:02 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 event found : 4 VALUE CHANGE
00:02:02 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 event found : 1 BOOT
00:02:01 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 sending Inform message
00:02:01 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 event found : M Reboot
00:02:01 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 event found : 4 VALUE CHANGE
00:02:01 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 event found : 1 BOOT
00:02:00 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 sending Inform message
00:01:59 01 Jan. ppp1:TR69 creating new session with ACS
00:01:54 01 Jan. BR_LAN:UPnP functionality has been activated
00:01:54 01 Jan. BR_LAN:UPnP functionality has been deactivated (manually)
00:01:54 01 Jan. :WAN: SENSING AUTO VDSL
00:01:54 01 Jan. ppp1:New DYN ROUTE is added [213.120.234.38/32 gw 195.166.130.252]
00:01:54 01 Jan. ppp1:New DYN ROUTE is added [213.120.234.42/32 gw 195.166.130.252]
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp1:PPP: PPP INFO 213.120.234.42 213.120.234.38
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp:PPP: IPCP_NAK
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp:PPP: CHAP_SUCCESS
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp:PPP: CHAP_RESPONSE
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp:PPP: LCP_GOOD_ACK
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp:PPP: LCP_REQUEST
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp:PPP: CHAP_RESPONSE
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp:PPP: LCP_GOOD_ACK
00:01:53 01 Jan. ppp:PPP: LCP_REQUEST
00:01:53 01 Jan. :PPPoE error: timeout
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,788
Thanks: 2,077
Fixes: 138
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@androidtanmay 

If it's dropping the connection every few hours then I would assume that it is the line that is dropping. It would be helpful if a Plusnet staffer came along and commented or preferably showed us a radius chart for your line. There could of course be two factors in play here.

It might be worth putting your old hub back in and see if that's also dropping every few hours.

Apart from that except for wondering if it's a duff Smarthub I'm afraid that I'm out of ideas.

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 23,643
Thanks: 4,109
Fixes: 1,056
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@androidtanmay it might be best to start a new topic in the Fibre board for the line dropping issue and as for the radius graph to see what’s happening with the line. 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎09-06-2013

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

HI Folks

 

Apologize if this has been covered already somewhere in the proceeding 26 pages  - but I have gone word blind - I have however noticed the apparent benefits of using a BT Smart Hub 6

 

What I have failed to spot is the relative merits of either the Type A or Type B  for use on the Plusnet Fttc service - do the different chipsets offer any advantages

 

Thanks in Advance

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@Baldrick1

The connection miraculously stabilised by 20+ hrs yesterday however in the night the router rebooted itself. The log says warm reset. Not sure how and why. Looks like some connectivity was initiated to it. Attaching logs if you can suggest this is indeed a faulty router?


00:00:37, 01 Jan.
wl0:(0/40) Channel Hopping initiated/Manually initiated
00:00:36, 01 Jan.
wl1:(0/6) Channel Hopping initiated/Manually initiated
00:00:36, 01 Jan.
:FIREWALL --OUTPUT_DROP--IN= OUT=bcmsw src=0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000 DST=ff02:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0016 LEN=76 TC=0 HOPLIMIT=1 FLOWLBL=0 PROTO=ICMPv6 TYPE=143 CODE=0
00:00:36, 01 Jan.
:The Modem has successfully powered up
00:00:36, 01 Jan.
:WDG Laststatus:: # Current boot was caused by Soft Reset (ACS)
00:00:28, 01 Jan.
:The Modem underwent a warm reset
00:00:24, 01 Jan.
:WAN: ethernet as LAN
00:01:55, 29 Jun.
dsl:VDSL Link Down: duration was 86304 seconds
00:01:55, 29 Jun.
:VLAN VLAN_DATA disconnected
00:01:55, 29 Jun.
:Connection to the Internet has been terminated.(Reboot,Reconfiguration,forced termination)
00:01:54, 29 Jun.
ppp1:The DYN ROUTE [213.120.234.38/32 gw 195.166.130.252] is deleted
00:01:54, 29 Jun.
ppp1:The DYN ROUTE [213.120.234.42/32 gw 195.166.130.252] is deleted
00:01:53, 29 Jun.
:A device reset was performed. Reason TR69(3)
00:01:46, 29 Jun.
ppp1:TR69 connectivity to (pbthdm.bt.mo) has been closed
00:01:46, 29 Jun.
ppp1:TR69 sending RebootResponse message
00:01:46, 29 Jun.
ppp1:TR69 receiving Reboot message
00:01:45, 29 Jun.
ppp1:TR69 connectivity to (pbthdm.bt.mo) has been initiated
00:01:45, 29 Jun.
ppp1:TR69 receiving InformResponse message
00:01:45, 29 Jun.
ppp1:TR69 event found : 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

@dvorak

Thanks. I will do that. Just trying to rule out the router first 😔
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Using the BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account

Just an update

The connection seems to have stabilised from last 2 days. Only issue now is the self reboot of the router every night at 00:02 like clockwork. Nothing major but certainly creates irritation. Not sure is this is happening due to the latest firmware which got pushed a week back.