Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Icotera i4850 as own router

FIXED
Sklarby
Hooked

Using Icotera i4850 as own router

Hi,

First time user of the plusnet forums, thought I'd give them a try. I've been using PlusNet's own Hub One router for a few months now but the WiFi signal is pretty [-Censored-] poor to be honest so wanted to attempt at using my own router that I have spare via work which was an Icotera i4850. 

I browsed the section via the website about using your own router, and configured the Icotera with the relevant username and password making sure the authentication method was set to CHAP but no luck.

Curious if anyone on here has ever used an Icotera router with their Plusnet connection?

17 REPLIES 17
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

Re: Using Icotera i4850 as own router

Moderators Note

This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
bmc
Hero
Fixes: 48

@Sklarby 

A very quick look online appears to show that the Icotera is a router only. If so, you'd need a modem in front of it.

Brian

Sklarby
Hooked

Hi Brian,

Think I know the answer to this one already but guessing you cannot use the Hub One in "modem only mode"?

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Think I know the answer to this one already

@Sklarby and you would be right...

Assuming your connection is Fibre(FTTC) then modem options are

a used Openreach HG612 modem from ebay

a TP link W9970, configured in bridge (modem only) mode

a Draytek vigor 130

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

bmc
Hero

@Sklarby 

I suspect you're correct but don't quote me on that.

You could see if there are any original white OpenReach modems (HG612) available on auction sites. Failing that, check for BT SmartHubs - they can be used on PlusNet.

Brian

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser