Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Hub One as a modem only?

Raadghast
Hooked
Fixes: 1

Re: Using Hub One as a modem only?

Hi

I’d be interested in a few more details on how you’ve connected the new router to the hub one please . I’m finding Hub one awful for WiFi distance and definitely need to do something before my daughter throws it out the window!
Many thanks
Tags (1)
NickR
Hooked

Raadghast: Yes, I had trouble with the Hub One's range and as I added more wi-fi enabled devices, it became increasingly  difficult to get fast reliable connections sometimes.  Adding the Nighthawk has completely sorted things out - an expensive solution, but worth it for the extra speed alone!

All I did was connect an ethernet port on the Hub One to the Internet port on the Nighthawk and switch off wi-fi on the Hub One.  There is an app you can download for the router which made setup pretty straightforward and you can also download a full pdf manual.  I'm no expert on this sort of thing, but if you need any more info, I'll try to help.

Baldrick1
Fixes: 415

@Raadghast

I have no idea how @NickR has connected his router as he hasn't specified the model. I suspect that he has a straight router, the Netgear part number of these is prefixed R. These do not contain a modem and hence the need to use the Hub One. If you are set on buying a Netgear device they also do effectively have the same range but incorporating a modem. These are prefixed D. If you use one of these you do not need to use the Plusnet Hub One.