cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

FIXED
silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

192.168.1.1 and 192.168.0.1 also do not work.

I'm concerned about this and wonder if my router has been hacked.

Also I'm reluctant to reset my router and possibly loose connection to the internet.

Does anyone have a similar problem?

9 REPLIES 9
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,597
Thanks: 3,461
Fixes: 515
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to My Router.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 90.0.2 (64-bit)

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Sorry running Linux should not be relevant to my router access problem. Please can you help advise on my subject.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,607
Thanks: 2,586
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

What happens when you enter '192.168.1.254' into the address bar of your browser?

John
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,719
Thanks: 3,014
Fixes: 201
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Fix

@silvefleece 

It's 192.168.1.254. Try clearing your browser cache and/or try a different browser.

silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

The tab in my browser Firefox just hunts.

Also I get "Activation of Network connection failed" quite often

 

silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thank you very much. Works with Chromium browser. Grr to Firefox. I'll now clear its cache and see is that solves my problem.

silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thank you again Baldric1. Clearing Firefox cache fixed my problem there too. That's really strange that Firefox cache had that effect.

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,159
Thanks: 2,010
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work


@silvefleece wrote:

Sorry running Linux should not be relevant to my router access problem. Please can you help advise on my subject.


The reference to Linux is part of @Strat 's signature, not a comment on your post.


The Internet gave us access to everything; but it also gave everything access to us.
James Veitch


ADSL2+   Billion 7800N
silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thanks 198kHz

My apologies to @Strat