cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

FIXED
silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

192.168.1.1 and 192.168.0.1 also do not work.

I'm concerned about this and wonder if my router has been hacked.

Also I'm reluctant to reset my router and possibly loose connection to the internet.

Does anyone have a similar problem?

9 REPLIES 9
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 31,242
Thanks: 3,854
Fixes: 564
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to My Router.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 103.0.2 (64-bit (64-bit)


silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Sorry running Linux should not be relevant to my router access problem. Please can you help advise on my subject.

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,028
Thanks: 3,606
Fixes: 134
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

What happens when you enter '192.168.1.254' into the address bar of your browser?

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,722
Thanks: 3,961
Fixes: 287
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Fix

@silvefleece 

It's 192.168.1.254. Try clearing your browser cache and/or try a different browser.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

The tab in my browser Firefox just hunts.

Also I get "Activation of Network connection failed" quite often

 

silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thank you very much. Works with Chromium browser. Grr to Firefox. I'll now clear its cache and see is that solves my problem.

silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thank you again Baldric1. Clearing Firefox cache fixed my problem there too. That's really strange that Firefox cache had that effect.

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,571
Thanks: 2,544
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work


@silvefleece wrote:

Sorry running Linux should not be relevant to my router access problem. Please can you help advise on my subject.


The reference to Linux is part of @Strat 's signature, not a comment on your post.

If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
silvefleece
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thanks 198kHz

My apologies to @Strat