cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

trippy
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎26-08-2013

BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

I have a Smart hub 2 installed and running since early last year, when i first took it out of the box and set it up i saw it do a firmware update in the logs. Since then though it hasn't done and update. 

I can see it connecting to the BT servers each evening, but it doesn't seem to want to update.

I have done a full reset recently as well, because we had a power surge and the router reset, so i did my own reset to make sure everything was ok. 

It is working ok, but i just like to be operating on the latest firmware, i'm hoping the latest firmware improves the reliability of the connection to the Wi-Fi Disc, which can be a bit flaky. 

My router is currently running Firmware version:v0.15.00.06145-BT and Boot loader:0.1.7-BT (Thu Nov 30 09:45:22 2017). looking around on the net it appears the latest version is v0.17.01.12301-BT.

 
If i check the TR69 logs i can see it connecting to the BT servers and getting its config ok, but it doesn't want to update.
 
Any help appreciated. below is some of the tr69 log after the reset this evening
 
18:22:58, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket closed successfully.
18:22:58, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HTTP authentication success from pbthdm.x.x.x
18:22:57, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket opened successfully.
18:22:57, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket closed successfully.
18:22:57, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HTTP authentication success from pbthdm.x.x.x
18:22:57, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket opened successfully.
18:22:57, 28 Jun.
CWMP: session completed successfully
18:22:57, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket closed successfully.
18:22:57, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HTTP authentication success from pbthdm.x.x.x
18:22:56, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket opened successfully.
18:22:56, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket opened successfully.
18:22:56, 28 Jun.
CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.x.x.x; Connecting as user: ACS username
18:22:56, 28 Jun.
CWMP: Session start now, server: https://pbthdm.x.x.x, Event code: 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
18:22:55, 28 Jun.
CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
18:22:53, 28 Jun.
Hub has successfully received and applied its configuration from BT's activation hub remote management system.
18:22:51, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket closed successfully.
18:22:51, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HTTP authentication success from pbthdm.x.x.x
18:22:50, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket opened successfully.
18:22:50, 28 Jun.
CWMP: Set Parameter by TR069 Success.
18:22:50, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket closed successfully.
18:22:50, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HTTP authentication success from pbthdm.x.x.x
18:22:50, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket opened successfully.
18:22:50, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HDM socket closed successfully.
18:22:50, 28 Jun.
CWMP: HTTP authentication success from pbthdm.x.x.x
16 REPLIES 16
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,541
Thanks: 5,137
Fixes: 1,291
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update


Moderators Note


This topic has been released from the spam filter 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,034
Thanks: 2,649
Fixes: 215
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

@trippy 

This thread indicates that you are at least 2 versions out of date. EDIT can't link the page, do a Google search for Smarthub 2 latest firmware and follow the link to the BT community.  Maybe BT don't update Smarthub 6s that are not administrated through the BT App, which of course we can't do as non BT Customers?

It will be interesting to hear if any other Plusnet users have received updates.

 

From the post:
 
Re: Smart Hub 2 Firmware
have been informed that a new update has been pushed to address Full900 package issues, I am running:

v0.17.01.12301-BT
Firmware updated:
13-Mar-2020

Anyone got anything newer?
trippy
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎26-08-2013

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

I’ve been looking at the logs again and noticed that at the midnight reboot I get this error, which I can only assume is to do with the update.

have looked online for the error code 9002 but can’t find Anything. Any ideas appreciated

 

00:21:41, 01 Jul.
CWMP: HDM socket opened successfully.
00:21:41, 01 Jul.
CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.x.x.x; Connecting as user: ACS username
00:21:41, 01 Jul.
CWMP: Session start now, server: https://pbthdm.x.x.x, Event code: 7 TRANSFER COMPLETE
00:21:41, 01 Jul.
CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 7 TRANSFER COMPLETE
00:21:38, 01 Jul.
download à⯶g fail, failure code:9002 / information:Internal error
00:21:37, 01 Jul.
CWMP: HDM socket closed successfully.
00:21:37, 01 Jul.
CWMP: HTTP authentication success from pbthdm.x.x.x
kankali
Grafter
Posts: 115
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎31-10-2011

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

I was using a Smart Hub 2 on PN for a while and it always managed to update itself.

 

I have had HH2 & HH5 and again both of those updated fine on Plusnet.

 

Therefore I have no idea why yours is not.

 

 

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,034
Thanks: 2,649
Fixes: 215
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

I'm therefore guessing that this hub has simply been left off the BT database. This could simply be a glitch in the records as sometimes happens with Plusnet.

Alternatively thinking out loud; what if it was bought new from a third party retailer or the BT shop rather than supplied ready preconfigured to a specific customer by BTr? I would not be surprised if these are not registered on the BT database until connected to a BT account.

kankali
Grafter
Posts: 115
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎31-10-2011

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

@Baldrick1 

 

I've bought all of mine sealed and the first time they were used was on PlusNet - I've never had an issue witth them updating. I'm not sure when they get added to the BT DBase.

 

Regards

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,034
Thanks: 2,649
Fixes: 215
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

@kankali 

If your sealed Smarthub was sent out to a BT customer then the serial number would have been logged to the original customer before being despatched so that when it was first connected it would automatically pick up the correct username and password from BT's servers, in the same way as Plusnet works.

My guess, which might be wrong, is that in the logging of the serial number against the original customer it is also entered into the update database.

Consequently the fact that you bought a new sealed unit is irrelevant if it was originally supplied to a BT customer.

kankali
Grafter
Posts: 115
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎31-10-2011

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

@Baldrick1 

 

Could be but everytime I have recieved one of these Hubs it has had the default BT username loaded.

I wonder if the Hub "dials home" when first connected to BT BB and then is supplied with it's username based on the serial number in the BT DBase as part of the smart set up?

 

Regards

trippy
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎26-08-2013

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

I got it from my father in law, brand new never used. It did do a fw update the first time i powered it up, but never since then. I was wondering if something was corrupted in the internal memory based on the weird characters in the error message of the last log. 

But i've reset the router multiple times, by the reset button and from the web control panel and the error is always there at the midnight update. 

If there is any ideas on what the error number signifies and how to correct it that would be useful. 

kankali
Grafter
Posts: 115
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎31-10-2011

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

If your father in law is still with BT he could report it as faulty and they should swap it for a new one.

 

That may be the easiest route.

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,730
Thanks: 624
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

You could look at the event log to check for error messages or reasons it is not connecting.

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,034
Thanks: 2,649
Fixes: 215
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update


@kankali wrote:

@Baldrick1 

Could be but everytime I have recieved one of these Hubs it has had the default BT username loaded.

I wonder if the Hub "dials home" when first connected to BT BB and then is supplied with it's username based on the serial number in the BT DBase as part of the smart set up?


That is precisely what I’m suggesting.

trippy
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎26-08-2013

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

@Mustrum See message 4
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,730
Thanks: 624
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: BT Smart Hub 2 firmware update

That only appears to be part of the event log - if it is anything like the earlier BT Hubs you can filter the event log information.

That said, I don;t have a Smart Hub.