cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

FIXED
Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

192.168.1.1 and 192.168.0.1 also do not work.

I'm concerned about this and wonder if my router has been hacked.

Also I'm reluctant to reset my router and possibly loose connection to the internet.

Does anyone have a similar problem?

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,610
Thanks: 3,067
Fixes: 458
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to My Router.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 79.0 (64-bit)

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Sorry running Linux should not be relevant to my router access problem. Please can you help advise on my subject.

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,509
Thanks: 1,492
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

What happens when you enter '192.168.1.254' into the address bar of your browser?

John
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,889
Thanks: 2,108
Fixes: 140
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Fix

@silvefleece 

It's 192.168.1.254. Try clearing your browser cache and/or try a different browser.

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

The tab in my browser Firefox just hunts.

Also I get "Activation of Network connection failed" quite often

 

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thank you very much. Works with Chromium browser. Grr to Firefox. I'll now clear its cache and see is that solves my problem.

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thank you again Baldric1. Clearing Firefox cache fixed my problem there too. That's really strange that Firefox cache had that effect.

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 1,170
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work


@silvefleece wrote:

Sorry running Linux should not be relevant to my router access problem. Please can you help advise on my subject.


The reference to Linux is part of @Strat 's signature, not a comment on your post.

Behind every successful man is a surprised woman
Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Trying to login to my Plusnet router using 192.168.1.254 does not work

Thanks 198kHz

My apologies to @Strat