cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time for a new router?

insussex
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎30-09-2016

Time for a new router?

Hi

 

I have one of the original Technicolour routers, it's been ok but for the last few years wifi can drop out and will not come back on until the router is rebooted.

The main system is wired but we use wifi for ipads and Kindles and my laptop.

Doing a site survey shows many powerful signals around on the recommended wifi channels.

 

Can anyone recommend a strong future proof router I could get or does Plusnet offer its long term customers a free upgrade?

 

Thanks

 

Mike

6 REPLIES
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 900
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Time for a new router?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 294
Thanks: 50
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Time for a new router?

Hi @insussex,

I'd recommend checking out the thread that @bill888 has linked in their post, but I've also raised a ticket on your account regarding this issue which can be viewed here.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
insussex
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎30-09-2016

Re: Time for a new router?

Thanks, I have read the reviews on the hub and think it will be a case of same issues here sadly, but its a kind offer.

 

I am reading up on that thread

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,658
Thanks: 732
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Time for a new router?

@insussex

You may also like to read up about various other options at  http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14436.0.html (the thread is updated with new models in the first post and the rest of the thread discusses said devices)

 

 

 

insussex
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎30-09-2016

Re: Time for a new router?

Thanks, they all work with Plusnet ADSL?

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,658
Thanks: 732
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Time for a new router?

The majority will as most VDSL router/modem all-in-ones are backward compatible with ADSL. Every device mentioned has a link to the manufactures specs so you can confirm for yourself.

Said forum also has threads about ADSL and a lot of the posters there are Plusnet users (the owner kitz is). 

Also it would be more future proof as you may move to fibre at some point too.