cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TP-Link VR600

Glengavel
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎24-10-2012

TP-Link VR600

Hello,

 

Can't get my new TP-Link VR600 to connect to the network. I've tried the trick of setting the VLAN ID to 101, but no joy. The wizard comes back and tells me the phoneline isn't connected. This is the same phoneline that works with the Hub One.

 

If I look in the system log there are repeated entries as follows:

DSL Training G.993 Started

DSL Training G.994

DSL Training G.994 Non-Standard Info Received

DSL Training G.994 Non-Standard Info Received

and repeat...

 

Don't know what to try next. I suppose the VR600 could be faulty but it's straight out of the box.

5 REPLIES 5
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,205
Thanks: 3,227
Fixes: 495
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: TP-Link VR600

The "DSL Training G.994 Non-Standard Info Received" is a red herring that is all over the TP-Link forums.

TP-Link have said they will filter out this message on a future update whenever that might be.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 86.0 (64-bit)

Glengavel
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎24-10-2012

Re: TP-Link VR600

Thanks for that. So what's my next move; return it as faulty? There's not a lot of other settings I can try. Can you see from logs at your end when I've been trying to connect?

Glengavel
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎24-10-2012

Re: TP-Link VR600

OK, success, of a sort...

Took the router through to where the master socket lives and connected it straight to the existing splitter with a short length of DSL cable. Now it's not even trying to set up a DSL connection. Swapped the splitter for the one TP-Link provided. Success! Took it back through to its intended home and it still works, and the Hub One works with the new splitter as well.

So the splitter that works with the Plusnet Hub One won't work with the TP-Link VR600. This is the sort of thing designed to test one's patience!

Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,205
Thanks: 3,227
Fixes: 495
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: TP-Link VR600

@Glengavel I'm not staff so can't help regarding logs...sorry.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 86.0 (64-bit)

markhawkin
Pro
Posts: 407
Thanks: 58
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎17-07-2016

Re: TP-Link VR600