cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ROG GT-AX6000 - Enable WAN for Wireless router mode

FIXED
Leonio
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

ROG GT-AX6000 - Enable WAN for Wireless router mode

Good afternoon everyone.

I have Plustnet hub two and I am trying to connect my router to it through WAN.  It seems I cannot not enable the WAN port in hub 2. Any tips?

 

Many thanks in advance.

Leonio

6 REPLIES 6
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 5,302
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ROG GT-AX6000 - Enable WAN for Wireless router mode

The WAN port on the Hub 2 is to connect it to the Internet via a modem or ONT ( fibre modem )

What are you trying to achieve ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Leonio
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

Re: ROG GT-AX6000 - Enable WAN for Wireless router mode

Hi MisterW,


WAN port on Hub 2 looks like this below. 
https://davemateer.com/assets/2022-04-11/back.jpg

I am connecting to the internet through the DSL. 

I am trying to archive WAN connection through my own router GT-AX6000. Operation mode: Wireless router

It suppose to look like this on YouTube video:
https://youtu.be/6eqBhxIJ2ow?t=442

But on mine it shows the cable is connected but there is no WAN IP and looks like this 0.0.0.0.

Is there a way to enable the WAN port from the hub 2?

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 5,302
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ROG GT-AX6000 - Enable WAN for Wireless router mode

Fix

OK, so you need to

1. set the Hub 2 to bridge mode

2. Connect the WAN port of your router to a LAN port ( any of 1 to 3 ) on the Hub 2

3. Configure your WAN connection on your router for PPPoE with your plusnet username & password

Nb the username is your account suffixed with @plusdsl.net

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Leonio
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

Re: ROG GT-AX6000 - Enable WAN for Wireless router mode

Thanks I will try it out.

While on bridge mode can I connect to the hub 2? or?

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 5,302
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ROG GT-AX6000 - Enable WAN for Wireless router mode

No. In bridge mode it is effectively a dsl modem. WiFi is disabled.

The led will show pink when connected in bridge mode

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Leonio
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

Re: ROG GT-AX6000 - Enable WAN for Wireless router mode

I see, Thank you Smiley