cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Plusnet and now can't access Synology NAS

mwerner
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2018

Re: New to Plusnet and now can't access Synology NAS


@bill888 wrote:

My apologies, I wrongly assumed you were a new fibre customer and was issued with a new Hub One.

You will need to access the 'hidden' expert page on the 2704n if you still wish to make changes to your router:

 

https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Change-LAN-IP-on-Plusnet-Hub-Zero-2704n/m-p/1421728#U1421728

 

I would suggest trying  Synology Assistant app first as advised by MisterW


Brilliant, am getting somewhere now. Going to http://192.168.1.254/expert_user.html gets access to the proper router settings page and not just the mask that Plusnet have put over it.

Right, I'm gonna need a bit of assistance with changing the settings.

Under Advanced>LAN>Enable DHCP Server

Start IP Address: 192.168.1.1

End IP Address: 192.168.1.253

Am I ok to change these to:

Start IP Address: 192.168.0.1

End IP Address: 192.168.0.253

without causing problems?

Do I also need to change the router IP 192.168.0.254 from 192.168.1.254 so that it is in the same format as the IP range

 

Many thanks for everyone who has helped so far

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,939
Thanks: 1,467
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New to Plusnet and now can't access Synology NAS

You'll need to change both the router IP and DHCP pool addresses. I would do these both at once to avoid locking yourself out of the router.
Other options are to use the app people have referenced, or connect a PC/device directly to the NAS to reconfigure it. I've no personal experience with the latter though.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

mwerner
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2018

Re: New to Plusnet and now can't access Synology NAS

Hi Bob

When you say "DHCP Pool addresses", is this the same as Start & End IP Addresses?

The ds assistant app won't find my NAS without disabling my firewall completely. I have tried allowing ds assistant in the fireall settings but it doesn't work. It also seems from reading the Synology forums that it also resets admin accounts and various other things. I would have thought that changing the LAN IP address range is the simplest option but I am a complete novice, hence all the questions.

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,939
Thanks: 1,467
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New to Plusnet and now can't access Synology NAS

Try...
Router IP: 192.168.0.1
Start IP: 192.168.0.2
End IP: 192.168.0.254
You will probably then need to disconnect/reconnect any client devices connected to the router (or give the router a quick reboot).
To access the router, you'd then need to browse to 192.168.0.1 instead of 192.168.1.254, and hopefully the NAS will be accessible again too 🤞

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

mwerner
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2018

Re: New to Plusnet and now can't access Synology NAS

Woo hoo, it worked. So far so good anyway. Slightly nerve wracking moment while the router rebooted but its looking good.

Thanks for all your help

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,939
Thanks: 1,467
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New to Plusnet and now can't access Synology NAS

Glad to hear it 🙂

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵