cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

FIXED
Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎26-10-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi, sorry, got to the arp.cmd via iPhone....

 

At the moment its showing 15 br0, however both laptops currently off....

 

Thanks

 

Bleakers

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎26-10-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

 also forgot to add sky box and Apple TV.....

 

Lots of WiFi....

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎15-02-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Thanks,  I remember a couple of members saying the BT 6 router was a good stable router and he put  pretty impressive guide of how to set stuff up and more things to alter on it. 

Seems a good bet for folks having bought a load of extra gadgets and finding this `device limit` problem.

I was lucky with original question and Plusnet sent a better router where I used both channels and all seems fine.

But `fault` really was mine in hindsight, by adding more and more stuff to system.    Seems a bit like buying a Fiat 500 ,, then expecting Fiat to give me a people carrier when I have 6 kids !!!

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,410
Thanks: 2,021
Fixes: 144
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.


@Bleakers wrote:

I have connected to it:

via Ethernet ports:

  • desktop PC
  • Canon Printer
  • BT power-line adapters master unit

Via WiFi:

  • 3 x iPhone's
  • 2 iPad's
  • 6 Woox smart plugs
  • 2 Woox smart strips which on each has 3 switchable sockets and 1 bank switchable USB charging ports (I imagine these operate as a single connection each strip, rather than the individual sockets)
  • 2 laptops

Thanks. Seems to be just about on the limit then Sad

As previously stated, I often need to turn WiFi off for example on an iPhone or iPad to get a laptop to connect. This weekend we had visitors staying with multiple phones, laptops and iPad's and turning WiFi on and off etc was bonkers....

Not unexpected then.

I'm not sure what legitimate need constitutes, but I intend also change my heating system to Hive, so another WiFi device...

FYI, Hive operates via a wired connection to your router/network. The negotiation with the thermostats is then managed by the Hive Hub and not your router. It shouldn't add to this problem.

With the rise of SMART homes and the IoT, I can't see a device with a 16 unit limitation being viable?

Fair statement, and a concern we're increasingly mindful of.


Hi, sorry, got to the arp.cmd via iPhone....

At the moment its showing 15 br0, however both laptops currently off....


That sells it in which case. Definitely looking at a restriction born from the 1 device limit.

I'll leave it to @RandallFlagg to explore the possibility of sending you a different device...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,915
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

 

Thanks for responding to this, @bobpullen it's appreciated.

 

@Bleakers - if you could pop me a PM across with your username, I'd be happy to send you a Hub One.

 

Best wishes

 

Dave

Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,915
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

 

Hi @Bleakers - apologies, I'll need your username AND postcode please.

 

Thanks

 

Dave

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎26-10-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Thanks, message sent.....

 

Bleakers

Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,915
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

 

And router sent, @Bleakers - thanks for the info!

 

Dave

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi,

I have the same issue, got lots of smart bulbs and smart speakers - could you send me a Hub 1 as well please?

Thanks

Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,149
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi @werna26,

 

I've sent one of those out for you. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 96
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎20-07-2016

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

A few comments:

1) technically, some low-cost routers will restrict the maximum number of wifi connections - and to be honest, I think that's what's happening here.

2) Of course, it's possible that the issue is that there's only 12 DHCP addesses set up in the pool: possible, but VERY unlikely!!!

3) Just because you get something free, doesn't mean it's good. Take many Microsoft free bits of software: they do the job, but if you need anything fancy, don't be too surprised if it doesn't do this. I guess that's what's happening here: the Sagecom router was chosen by Plusnet a few years ago, and back then "it was adequate for most users". Expectations now are much higher, we all have more wifi devices. 

A similar issue: you put the router in a non-optimal location, then wonder why certain bits of your house is lacking Wifi coverage.

Sometimes you have to accept that you need to replace the "free" product with something better....

 

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,410
Thanks: 2,021
Fixes: 144
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.


@paul_blitz wrote:

A few comments:

1) technically, some low-cost routers will restrict the maximum number of wifi connections - and to be honest, I think that's what's happening here.

What's happening here is described in an earlier post.

2) Of course, it's possible that the issue is that there's only 12 DHCP addesses set up in the pool: possible, but VERY unlikely!!!

This isn't what's happening.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-01-2020

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hello,

 

I also have one of the 2704N Routers and have hit this problem since Christmas with the addition of an iPad, Nintendo Switch and a couple of Google Home Minis added to the house. Is it possible to request a newer router also?

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-01-2020

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Same problem here.  We have Sagemcom 2704N.

 

A couple of cameras and a new Echo device at Christmas have made us hit a limit.  We get can't connect on the most recently switched on device.   We can only resolve the problem by disconnecting another one or two.  

 

If the solution is to swap router can we get one please?

 

Thanks!

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,410
Thanks: 5,386
Fixes: 911
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi @incompleat I'd recommend calling our customer options team on 0800 013 2632 as we may need to recontract you to send a new router (the Hub One) out free of charge. 

Hi @PaulPhoenix I'd also recommend contacting customer options for the same reason as above but if you can drop us a post back afterwards we'll get a Hub One ordered as we won't normally offer this unless you're on a fibre connection.

Just make sure you're the account holder or the account holder is with you when you call.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team