cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

FIXED
Bleakers
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎26-10-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi, sorry, got to the arp.cmd via iPhone....

 

At the moment its showing 15 br0, however both laptops currently off....

 

Thanks

 

Bleakers

Bleakers
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎26-10-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

 also forgot to add sky box and Apple TV.....

 

Lots of WiFi....

Bripnet777
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎15-02-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Thanks,  I remember a couple of members saying the BT 6 router was a good stable router and he put  pretty impressive guide of how to set stuff up and more things to alter on it. 

Seems a good bet for folks having bought a load of extra gadgets and finding this `device limit` problem.

I was lucky with original question and Plusnet sent a better router where I used both channels and all seems fine.

But `fault` really was mine in hindsight, by adding more and more stuff to system.    Seems a bit like buying a Fiat 500 ,, then expecting Fiat to give me a people carrier when I have 6 kids !!!

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,968
Thanks: 1,502
Fixes: 121
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.


@Bleakers wrote:

I have connected to it:

via Ethernet ports:

  • desktop PC
  • Canon Printer
  • BT power-line adapters master unit

Via WiFi:

  • 3 x iPhone's
  • 2 iPad's
  • 6 Woox smart plugs
  • 2 Woox smart strips which on each has 3 switchable sockets and 1 bank switchable USB charging ports (I imagine these operate as a single connection each strip, rather than the individual sockets)
  • 2 laptops

Thanks. Seems to be just about on the limit then Sad

As previously stated, I often need to turn WiFi off for example on an iPhone or iPad to get a laptop to connect. This weekend we had visitors staying with multiple phones, laptops and iPad's and turning WiFi on and off etc was bonkers....

Not unexpected then.

I'm not sure what legitimate need constitutes, but I intend also change my heating system to Hive, so another WiFi device...

FYI, Hive operates via a wired connection to your router/network. The negotiation with the thermostats is then managed by the Hive Hub and not your router. It shouldn't add to this problem.

With the rise of SMART homes and the IoT, I can't see a device with a 16 unit limitation being viable?

Fair statement, and a concern we're increasingly mindful of.


Hi, sorry, got to the arp.cmd via iPhone....

At the moment its showing 15 br0, however both laptops currently off....


That sells it in which case. Definitely looking at a restriction born from the 1 device limit.

I'll leave it to @RandallFlagg to explore the possibility of sending you a different device...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,735
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 65
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

 

Thanks for responding to this, @bobpullen it's appreciated.

 

@Bleakers - if you could pop me a PM across with your username, I'd be happy to send you a Hub One.

 

Best wishes

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,735
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 65
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

 

Hi @Bleakers - apologies, I'll need your username AND postcode please.

 

Thanks

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
Bleakers
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎26-10-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Thanks, message sent.....

 

Bleakers

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,735
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 65
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

 

And router sent, @Bleakers - thanks for the info!

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
werna26
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi,

I have the same issue, got lots of smart bulbs and smart speakers - could you send me a Hub 1 as well please?

Thanks

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,079
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 68
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi @werna26,

 

I've sent one of those out for you. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
paul_blitz
Rising Star
Posts: 88
Thanks: 29
Registered: ‎20-07-2016

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

A few comments:

1) technically, some low-cost routers will restrict the maximum number of wifi connections - and to be honest, I think that's what's happening here.

2) Of course, it's possible that the issue is that there's only 12 DHCP addesses set up in the pool: possible, but VERY unlikely!!!

3) Just because you get something free, doesn't mean it's good. Take many Microsoft free bits of software: they do the job, but if you need anything fancy, don't be too surprised if it doesn't do this. I guess that's what's happening here: the Sagecom router was chosen by Plusnet a few years ago, and back then "it was adequate for most users". Expectations now are much higher, we all have more wifi devices. 

A similar issue: you put the router in a non-optimal location, then wonder why certain bits of your house is lacking Wifi coverage.

Sometimes you have to accept that you need to replace the "free" product with something better....

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,968
Thanks: 1,502
Fixes: 121
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.


@paul_blitz wrote:

A few comments:

1) technically, some low-cost routers will restrict the maximum number of wifi connections - and to be honest, I think that's what's happening here.

What's happening here is described in an earlier post.

2) Of course, it's possible that the issue is that there's only 12 DHCP addesses set up in the pool: possible, but VERY unlikely!!!

This isn't what's happening.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵