cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

FIXED
PaulFreeland
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-06-2023

How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

Hello

I have just had full fibre installed and it's working well, except I now need to access remote MySQL databases directly, using port 3306, and it is blocked.

 

The database client software is returning:

Access denied for user 'root'@' [Removed].plus.com' (using password: YES)

 

[Removed].plus.com is not the server I am trying to connect to. I assume this is a Plusnet firewall blocking the connection.

 

Moderators Note: Personal information removed

 

Can anyone advise how to do this in the hub control panel?

 

Thanks!

Tags (3)
7 REPLIES 7
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,639
Thanks: 6,664
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

the XXXX.plus.com is the identifier of your home connection.
If you need to access a DB running on your home network you need to set up port forwarding in your router.

This can be configured here http://192.168.1.254/firewall.htm in the Hub2.

 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
PaulFreeland
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-06-2023

Re: How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

Thank you

I am trying to access a remote MySQL database. i.e. it's an outgoing connection.

For example this is my terminal command:

mysql -uroot -p -h myremoteserver.co.uk

This prompts for the password and then show this error message:

Access denied for user 'root'@' [Removed].plus.com' (using password: YES)

It seems as though myremoteserver.co.uk is being redirected to my home connection identifier which I assume is being done by the router (?)

The router firewall is set to Default - allow all outgoing connections

Can you advise please?

 

Moderators Note: Personal information removed

 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,639
Thanks: 6,664
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

Fix
It's blocked at your remote end, the message is saying your ip address / host is blocked.
You will need to allow access on the remote server.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
PaulFreeland
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-06-2023

Re: How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

Thank you very much, granting access to my new IP sorted it.

In my defence the error message is very confusing 🙂

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,639
Thanks: 6,664
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

Glad it's sorted for you Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,420
Thanks: 5,939
Fixes: 423
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

granting access to my new IP sorted it.

I hope access isn't really granted on a specific IP basis. Unless you have opted for a static IP, then there is a possibility you may be allocated a different IP should the connection ever be reset e.g by Openreach maintenance or a router reboot

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,639
Thanks: 6,664
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: How to open up port 3306 in Plusnet Hub 2

judging by the host name returned by the access denied message, I'd say it was static.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'