cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firewalls

FIXED
davycrockett
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎22-09-2018

Firewalls

I noticed from my router settings that there is a firewall enabled. This is in addition to my zonealarm firewall. What's the difference between those two firewalls and are they both necessary?

Apologies if for this naive question.

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Firewalls

@davycrockett, welcome to the forum. You only really need one Firewall and for me that would be the one in the router. Zone Alarm is just wasting your clock cycles, and re-doing work that is already done at the router Having said that if you feel more 'secure' running both then why not.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,745
Thanks: 3,973
Fixes: 289
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Firewalls

Router firewalls are generally hardware based whilst Zonealarm’s will be software. I would keep both running. See here for more detail. https://www.nortonsecurityonline.com/security-center/how-does-firewall-work.html 

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): Link fixed.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

davycrockett
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎22-09-2018

Re: Firewalls

Thanks for the feedback - I'll probably keep both running and hope there is no conflict between the two of them.

By the way the Norton link doesn't work.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,745
Thanks: 3,973
Fixes: 289
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Firewalls

Fix

As one is hardware and the other software based there will be no conflict. I can't work out why the link doesn't work. If you do a Google search for 'How does a firewall work' it will direct you to this address, where it will work.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

davycrockett
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎22-09-2018

Re: Firewalls

Got the link through google search (can't think why I didn't do that in the first place!) - interesting read about the firewalls.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,745
Thanks: 3,973
Fixes: 289
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Firewalls

@Strat

Where did I go wrong with this link? What I did was copy and paste the address from my browser address field.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 31,251
Thanks: 3,857
Fixes: 564
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Firewalls

There was a space at the end of the URL @Baldrick1. It happens quite often with posted links.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 103.0.2 (64-bit (64-bit)