cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Draytek 2860n settings help!

FIXED
Highlighted
autocraft
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Draytek 2860n settings help!

Hello lovely people, 

 

Does anyone have the settings for the Draytek 2860n router for a DSL connection? I have found the settings for Fibre on the forums but nothing for a DSL connection.

( I tried the fibre settings but it didn't work)

 

Thanks for your help in advance.

 

 

Martin  

24 REPLIES 24
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,560
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 88
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

Hi,

 

The PlusNet settings for ADSL can be found from here https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/broadband-connection-settings/

they are

Broadband username or login name yourusername@plusdsl.net
Connection type or encapsulation 'PPPoA' or 'PPP over ATM'
Password The password you use to log in to the Member Centre
Virtual Path Identifier (VPI) 0
Virtual Channel Identifier (VCI) 38
Multiplexing method 'VC Based' or 'VCMUX' or 'VC-Multiplexing'

 

There's a Zen guide fro setting up Draytek routers for ADSL here https://support.zen.co.uk/kb/Knowledgebase/Broadband-How-to-connect-and-setup-Draytek-routers ( should be similar for the 2860 ) , just replace with the PN settings where appropriate

Hope that helps

autocraft
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

I'll give it a go and let you know! 

 

Thanks 

 

Martin 

autocraft
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

Ive given them settings a go and nothing... 

 

Back to the drawing board 

 

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,560
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 88
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

Ok, lets start with something simple. The front panel DSL indicator , is it ON ?

autocraft
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

Yes it is and Solid not flashing 

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,560
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 88
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

Ok, so check that WAN1 is enabled and that it's mode is set to ADSL ( manual page 70 )

Check that Active mode is 'Always on'

Page 77 , Internet Access , check that Access Mode is pppoe/pppoa then go to Details page, manual page 86 for ADSL settings. Check VPI/VCI and Encapsulation ( Multiplexing ) and Protocol are set as above. Check Username / password are correct , username is <accountname>@plusdsl.net and password is the same as the one you use to access the member centre

 If all else fails then post a screen shot of the details ( redact your username/password , this is a public form )

 

 

 

 

autocraft
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

still nothing..... I've taken some grabs  see what you think.... Screen grab 1.jpegScreen grab 2.jpeg

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,560
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 88
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

That looks fine to me , I've just compared it with my old config fro WAN1 on my 2830 when I was on ADSL and it looks the same. Only thing to check would be that you actually have WAN1 enabled. Can you post the screen from Online Status->Physical connection ? (assuming the menu is similar to the 2830)

corringham
Pro
Posts: 362
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

What does the Diagnostics -> DSL Status page say?  Mine starts off as below:

 

ATU-R Information
 
 
 
 
 
         Type: ADSL2/2+
         Hardware: Annex A
         Firmware: 05-07-02-08-00-01
         Power Mngt Mode: DSL_G997_PMS_L0
         Line State: SHOWTIME
         Running Mode: ADSL2+ Annex A
         Vendor ID: 00000000 00000000
 
 
 
 
ATU-C Information
 
 
 
        Vendor ID: b5005453 54430510 [TSTC]
 
 
 
 
Line Statistics
     
  Downstream             Upstream                
Actual Rate 14335 Kbps 1104 Kbps
Attainable Rate 19068 Kbps 22095 Kbps
Path Mode Fast Fast
Interleave Depth 1 1
Actual PSD 18. 4 dB 12. 8 dB
 
corringham
Pro
Posts: 362
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

Actually I've just notice that your settings have  "ARP Detect" for the WAN Connection Detection Mode - I have "PPP Detect" - that might make a difference?

autocraft
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

screen grab from the online status 

 

Screen grab 3.jpegScreen grab 4.jpeg

autocraft
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

Thanks Corringham, 

 

the drop down from ARP Detect only give me that or Ping Detect, then its wanting me to fill in an IP address etc. There is no option for PPP Detect. 

 

Frustrating..

corringham
Pro
Posts: 362
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

Your WAN1 Physical Mode is showing as VDSL - I thought you were using ADSL?  Since you have the DSL Mode set to Auto it should detect which to use. So either it has it correct and you do in fact have a VDSL connection, and need the appropriate settings for that, or it has detected it wrongly and that s why it isn't working. In the latter case you could try changing the DSL MOde to "ADSL Only"

autocraft
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Draytek 2860n settings help!

I'll try it.. 

 

I just assumed it was a ADSL, i don't know the difference between ADSL and VDSL? are the setting for VDSL different? 

 

Thanks for your help btw