cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re-contracting

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,486
Thanks: 5,990
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Re-contracting

Can I change my WiFi password on my phone without doing that? I went into my phone settings last night and couldn`t see a way to delete and change the WiFi password? 

There isnt normally a way to change the password, you have to delete the wifi network entry.

The Hub 2 will have a different Wifi name AND password anyway. SO on your phone you just search for a new network, find the new Hub 2 one and enter the new password.

NB the wifi name & password are noted on the card slotted into the rear of the router.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

plusmouse
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 238
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎09-04-2017

Re: Re-contracting

Thanks for that MisterW. Just realized having viewed a few online videos that on an android phone you need to look at the available networks listed on the phone, ask it to forget the one you normally connect to and then go back and reconnect to it again using new WiFi details? Have I read that correctly? And will the phone then save those WiFi/Network settings once I input them?

 

So it would be Wi-Fi Network: PLUSNET - Fxxxxx

                        Wi-Fi Password (Key): xx4yxxxxxx

 

Or similar reading from the card found on the back of the HUB 2? 

 

 

 

 

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,486
Thanks: 5,990
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Re-contracting

Yes

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,296
Thanks: 9,787
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Re-contracting

I would not bother with the forget network.

Just connect the phone to the new network.  That way if you need to switch back to the old router, the phone will just reconnect to it.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

plusmouse
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 238
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎09-04-2017

Re: Re-contracting

A massive thanks to everyone who took the time to reply and assist me with this. I can now tell you all that the HUB2 is now working and it took all of three minutes for the light on the HUB to go from green to blue. 🙂 Now all I need to do is (what Townman has suggested above) look for the Hub2 WiFi details on my phone and connect to it. Once my LIVE fibre to the cabinet kicks in next Tuesday, I should continue onwards without any (fingers tightly crossed) issues.

 

As Mr Grace in Are you being served used to say, "You`ve all done very well"!! 👍 

plusmouse
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 238
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎09-04-2017

Re: Re-contracting

Just turned my phone WiFi on and got a notification that a WiFi network was available. I tapped on it and it took me to the sign in page so I just did what Townman suggested an input the WiFi password for the HUB2 and it connected. 👍

 

Tell you what guys, it`s made me realize having an internet connection and a smartphone requires staying in touch with the technicalities required because it`s easy to turn something on and off without being aware of the systems that drive them and knowing how to navigate it all! 

 

I will return to the thread I started in the Broadband section soon to learn more about router `stats` and educate myself around a few other areas I`ve quite honestly never dabbled in until now. 

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,916
Thanks: 5,021
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Re-contracting

For anyone else reading this, another (potentially easier) method of connecting a smartphone to the Hub Two Wi-Fi involves simply scanning the QR code on the removable card; saves you having to mess about entering passwords etc.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

plusmouse
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 238
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎09-04-2017

Re: Re-contracting

I had to go down the manual route as my Smartphone is not new so it doesn`t have that scanning bar-code ability but once I update my phone chances are I`ll have that option in the future.

 

So, today is my going LIVE date (according to the email I got) and my next bill is showing as the full out of contract price of just over £41. a month which I`m assuming will rectify itself (discounts applied) when my bill for May comes around? My unlimited fibre is going to cost £25.99p a month but between Sunday (April 9th) when my ADSL ended and today (April11th) when my Fibre kicks in, there is that one day gap where I will have been out of contract. I will do a speed test sometime tomorrow to see if my speed has improved. I realize this can fluctuate for a week or two when switching from a slow speed to a faster one.

 

Yesterday, it was still around 4.21Mb/s download. So the fibre broadband won`t materialize until today sometime. Just hope that April 11th date I was given is correct. 

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,296
Thanks: 9,787
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Re-contracting

"10 day setting down" concept does not exist for FTTC.  The service is provisioned at full speed... see https://forums.digitalspy.com/discussion/comment/66449538#Comment_66449538

The "10 day period" is a hang out from ADSL days ... I have even seen the same "10 day" mantra used for FTTP ... I do not envisage the speed of light changing in 10 days, years or millennia!

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

plusmouse
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 238
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎09-04-2017

Re: Re-contracting

That`s a good explanation of the speed parameters as things settle down, thanks Townman. As I said above, I will keep an eye on the speeds over the coming week/s and see what transpires. Just need to keep an eye on the billing as I expected to be out of contract for one day (yesterday) and back in contract from today. But that will be a separate topic should I need to question it later on.