cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed HALFED again

HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Speed HALFED again

my download speed is down to sub 40Mb again.
What has happened?
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3376933360
25 REPLIES 25
chrcoluk
Grafter
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2013

Re: Speed HALFED again

I think posted in wrong section.
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Speed HALFED again

Why I am ON IPV6. All results are meant to be posted here.
The last time this happened was an error by PN.  Tongue
chrcoluk
Grafter
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2013

Re: Speed HALFED again

ok thanks for clarifying.
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Speed HALFED again

Same again:
Result on ipv6:
Result on ipv4: my normal login:

This was just by changing my login details.
Now it MIGHT be gateway lottery again, but PN says this is a thing of the past  Undecided
AndyH
Grafter
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Speed HALFED again

Are you on fibre or ADSL?
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Speed HALFED again

Speeds over 24Mbps can only be fibre!
@Hairy McBiker Have you checked the current line speed on the portal and compared it with the IP Profile reported by the BT diagnostic test?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
AndyH
Grafter
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Speed HALFED again

Sorry...brain freeze...
What is your MTU on your router if you run this command ip rt6advd iflist ?
Edit: It appears that speedtest.net is dual stacked but the test runs over v4 - so that should rule out a MTU problem
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Speed HALFED again

From my members page:
Estimated line speed:
   There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
   77.4 Mb
Not done a BT test as it seems fine on ipv4. (Which I am still on)
Currently:

I will drop this connection and re-login as ipv6
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Speed HALFED again

MTU bits:
{Administrator}=>ip rt6advd iflist
Flags Legend: ttached anaged ther - Def. Rtr. Pref. ow / Medim / igh
Interface        AdvInterval Lifetime Reachabl...



Retest using ipv6
So a little slower but not the major difference there was before, however the ping has more than doubled.
AndyH
Grafter
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Speed HALFED again

What if you ping a site like bbc.co.uk in v6 (ping -6 ipv6.bbc.co.uk )? How does that compare to normal bbc pings?
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Speed HALFED again

hairybiker@Duo:~$ ping bbc.co.uk
PING bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.18) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from fmt-vip72.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.18): icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=19.5 ms
64 bytes from fmt-vip72.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.18): icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=18.7 ms
64 bytes from fmt-vip72.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.18): icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=19.0 ms
64 bytes from fmt-vip72.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.18): icmp_seq=4 ttl=55 time=18.5 ms
64 bytes from fmt-vip72.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.18): icmp_seq=5 ttl=55 time=19.0 ms
--- bbc.co.uk ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 18.513/18.960/19.507/0.371 ms
hairybiker@Duo:~$ ping6  ipv6.bbc.co.uk
PING ipv6.bbc.co.uk(2001:4b10:bbc::2) 56 data bytes

still waiting for a reply, been over a minute now.
AndyH
Grafter
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Speed HALFED again

Sorry - my mistake, that BBC IPv6 IP isn't responding to pings.
Try ipv6.thinkbroadband.com (2a02:68:1::4)
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Speed HALFED again

It seems to have settled down again, back to 20ms.
chrcoluk
Grafter
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2013

Re: Speed HALFED again

Quote from: AndyH
Sorry...brain freeze...
What is your MTU on your router if you run this command ip rt6advd iflist ?
Edit: It appears that speedtest.net is dual stacked but the test runs over v4 - so that should rule out a MTU problem

andy you figured a way to get our asus routers to set a seperate ipv6 mtu to ipv4 mtu?