cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet lie

Feasts
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-09-2019

Plusnet lie

Why do plusnet lie about keeping virgin media phone number. Virgin said plusnet have to request to port the number. Which is true after talking to ofcom. Plusnet say I can not keep my VM number as they won't release it. VM have had no request from plusnet. Plusnet you disgust me
13 REPLIES 13
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,599
Thanks: 364
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Plusnet lie

I'm really sorry to see this. 

 

I really do wish to hopefully reassure you that we would have no reason to be untruthful with you but I am sorry to see Virgin seem to disagree with what we've advised to you. 

 

I can't see a reason as to why Virgin would be untruthful with you either nor why they might have rejected our request to import the number. I can see that we've attempted this a number of times now so unfortunately there wouldn't be any benefit in a further attempt. 

 

My advise would be to speak with Virgin again if it's essential for you to get that number back, if you choose to do so I can provide you with the Openreach reference numbers (both us and Virgin use their systems to move numbers) for each attempt so they can reference this themselves. 

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,286
Thanks: 1,409
Fixes: 87
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet lie

I'm not taking sides here. Can you explain why you are convinced that it is Plusnet that have not requested your number to be ported and not VM who are telling  'lies' as you call it. There is obviously a screw up somewhere but lying?

Lie:

verb (used without object), lied, ly. · ing. to speak falsely or utter untruth knowingly, as with intent to deceive. to express what is false; convey a false impression.

Hopefully a Plusnet staffer will come along and pick this up for you.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,601
Thanks: 5,630
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Plusnet lie

@adamwalker

A reflection - if PlusNET gave made multiple attempts to port the number and VM refused the requests, why was the OP advised “cannot port a VM number” rather than “we have attempted to do this N times and VM rejected the request”? Feed back on clear communication if the facts needs to be made here - there is a big difference between “cannot be done” and “attempts are being thwarted”.

It would be more transparent to cut to the chase and just give the OP the dates and references of the port attempts (on a ticket if not here) and let them take VM to task.
Feasts
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-09-2019

Re: Plusnet lie

Hi Adam

Yes it is essential I do keep the number. Please could you supply me with the reference numbers and dates that a phone number transfer was requested with virgin? I will contact virgin (yet again!!!!) and hope that the additional information will help to get this situation resolved! Had I of known the problems involved with changing to a different supplier I would never have entered into a new agreement with Plusnet, as your assurances so far have not materialised and I'm still paying monthly charges to both providers until this situation is resolved.
Thanks and kind regards
David Coombes
Feasts
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-09-2019

Re: Plusnet lie

When I applied to Pusnet. I was told that I would be able to keep my VM number.  I was told I had a BT line. They wouldn't need to send an openreach engineer to install one. I had an old BT socket in  the spare bedroom. I did say there wasn't a working line at my address. The day it went live I had no phone or broadband. After asking why it wasn't working I was told it was working. Yes it was working but it was at an unknown address in London.. Not my address. They had the wrong address on my account from my online booking. I had the router and bits, but no phone line.

They had to send an Engineer to fit a BT line. Because there wasn't one.!!!!

Its the same regarding keeping my VM number. After a while of trying. I was told that VM DONT release numbers to plusnet.

Totally FOBBED off.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,601
Thanks: 5,630
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Plusnet lie

@adamwalker 

There is a lot of feedback required here!!

Why are support agents still advising that VM numbers cannot be transferred rather than advising that it should be possible, but in some cases where VM numbers are not local geographical numbers it might not be possible.  It rather seems that the edge cases are being used to position the whole by some agents.

"There are a lot of agents" does not cut the mustard!

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,188
Thanks: 745
Fixes: 283
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Plusnet lie

Thanks for getting back to us @Feasts.

It appears that there's quite a complex web of issues here that's causing this.

The original order we placed to bring your number over is still showing as active on our suppliers end despite showing as cancelled on our end.

As a result of this being open all the number import requests we've placed have failed stating there's already an open order for the number to be brought over which is correct.

I've spoken with our suppliers to get them to cancel this order which in turn should allow us to attempt bringing the number over.

They've advised this should be done within 24 hours. The order to bring the number over once we can place it will take a mininum of 10 working days as technically it's a transfer of service and this is the quickest we can bring it over whilst complying with Ofcom regulations.

I've now taken this on personally for you and I'll update you as soon as I know more

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Feasts
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-09-2019

Re: Plusnet lie

Hi Matthew.

Thanks For looking into this for me. Hopefully it can be sorted.

David Coombes

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,601
Thanks: 5,630
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Plusnet lie


@MatthewWheeler wrote:

It appears that there's quite a complex web of issues here that's causing this.

The original order we placed to bring your number over is still showing as active on our suppliers end despite showing as cancelled on our end.

As a result of this being open all the number import requests we've placed have failed stating there's already an open order for the number to be brought over which is correct.

Hi @MatthewWheeler 

As ever a great drains up from one of the specialists on the team - thank you.  Is there any insight as to why the agents @Feasts have communicated with persisted in claiming that VM numbers cannot be ported, rather than taking a proper look at what is going wrong?  This should have been uncovered at the first point of enquiry - the management of reasonable expectations has not been good here.

Time and again we see reports around here of VM inbound users being advised that their VM numbers cannot be ported, which in general is not true.  It is a key Ofcom requirement.  Given the statements reported of VM ("Plusnet have not requested the number port") it somewhat appears that this number port failed within BTOR's internal systems.  It remains open within their systems but not actioned (sent to VM), yet some how sent a KCI to Plusnet which closed the order within PlusNet's systems.

@NickyM 

 

Is there anything to be learnt and escalated here please?

  1. Clarify to agents that VM (and other non-BT CP) numbers can be ported
  2. Do a proper investigation when things go wrong as Matthew has done
  3. Examine how PlusNet's systems believe the order was closed (completed?) whilst still open in BTOR's systems
  4. Why repeated orders were raised in the face of failure reports, without the cause of the failures being investigated

The last two points makes one wonder just how many failures to port numbers successfully have their cause being something similar to this case?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,188
Thanks: 745
Fixes: 283
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Plusnet lie

Thanks for your post @Townman.

Once the issue is sorted I'll pass the feedback on in full.

Effectively when it comes to phone orders there are a total of 3 systems in play that ideally needs to talk to each other.

  1. Our own systems
  2. The tool and systems we use to place the phone order
  3. Openreach's own systems

Whenever an order is placed there are a number of activities generated on Openreach's end that need to be completed before an order can be marked as completed. These range from the routing of the line to directory details and so on. For some reason the original order we placed failed and was marked as cancelled by Openreach which was, in turn, passed to the phone order tool and then through to our own systems.

What can also happen sometimes is the order can show as cancelled on all the above systems yet some tasks can remain open in the background which can cause conflict with future orders. In this case, it appears that the number porting activity was left open. As a result, when we tried to place orders to renumber the line these failed because in Openreach's eyes we were still trying to bring the number over on the previous order even though that order was cancelled.

Whilst this can happen occasionally the odds of it happening are very low and as such in the majority of cases what to look for is unfortunately not common knowledge but I'll ensure that the relevant people are made aware.

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 29
Thanks: 87
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-02-2018

Re: Plusnet lie

Hi @Townman ,

Hope your well?

I can see @MatthewWheeler  has covered the points below and i have this morning reviewed the thread and will be picking up feedback today.

 

Nicky

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 NickyM
 Plusnet Help Team
Feasts
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-09-2019

Re: Plusnet lie

Hi There.

My number should be transferred over on the 20th. The only issue I have now is that I have had to keep my VM  account active. Which is costing ME. Will Plusnet compensate for there incompetence for not getting this issue sorted much earlier.

Thanks

David Coombes 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 594
Thanks: 83
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Plusnet lie

Hi @Feasts

 

Thanks for getting back in touch.

While we aren't able to speed up the process to retain your VM number I can see my colleague Matt has been dealing with this issue for you personally. I would advise that once your service is working correctly with your VM number we would be happy to discuss a gesture of goodwill relative to the inconvenience you have experienced.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Warwick
 Plusnet Help Team