cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Landline or mobile problem?

brfoster365
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-04-2022

Landline or mobile problem?

Unable to call own landline from own mobile, message INVALID NUMBER

32 REPLIES 32
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,523
Thanks: 5,128
Fixes: 414
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

@brfoster365  Welcome to the forum.

For a start ring17070 from your landline and check that it is replying with the correct number.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

brfoster365
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-04-2022

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Thankyou

I tried 17070 and my phone number is correct. 

My mobile is with Sky which is O2. I can even call my landline from my Mobile.

Sky say its Plusnet, and Plusnet say its Sky mobile?

Bit of a dilemma as I was with NOW Broadband and have only had the problem since the changeover last week

Thanks for your help

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,523
Thanks: 5,128
Fixes: 414
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

@brfoster365 

Your two posts conflict. Which way around do calls fail to connect? Whichever it is that can’t be called, do calls from other phones get through?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

brfoster365
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-04-2022

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Hi, 

Just to clarify.

from my Sky Mobile to landline, message INVALID NUMBER.

From my landline to my Sky mobile, works OK

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,523
Thanks: 5,128
Fixes: 414
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

@brfoster365 

Next questions, sorry for them all:

Can any-one else ring you on your landline number?

Am I correct in assuming that you are a new subscriber? If so, is it a new landline number allocated by Plusnet or has it been ported across from your last ISP? If so, who?

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

brfoster365
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-04-2022

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Hi,

No its the same landline number.

Everyone else can call my landline from their mobile

Thanks

brfoster365
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-04-2022

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Sorry last provider was NOW BROADBAND

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,523
Thanks: 5,128
Fixes: 414
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

@brfoster365 

So you can make calls from your landline phone and everything else can call your landline phone. This sounds like a mobile problem to me.

You haven’t  by any chance confused things by trying to use WiFi calling and you haven’t configured it for your new hub?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

adam945
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 2,319
Fixes: 113
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Hey @brfoster365, thanks a lot for raising this with us. Sometimes, a number import doesn't complete across all Openreach systems, so I've just had a quick word with their Migrations Services Team and have been advised that there doesn't seem to be any issues, however they've raised the matter with Sky to see if there's anything that needs doing on their end. 

 

I'll follow this up with you on Friday and will be in touch. Smiley 

 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds
brfoster365
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-04-2022

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Checked to make sure its not configured for calling using wifi.

I'm more convinced its a sky mobile problem.

Thanks for your suggestion

brfoster365
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-04-2022

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Thanks @adam945 very much for your help in this matter.

I have raised it with  Sky Mobile Community yesterday, nothing so far.

I'll post any replies I get from them.

adam945
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 2,319
Fixes: 113
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Great stuff, thanks a lot for letting us know. Yeah I'm 99% sure it's an issue on Sky Mobile's side, but we'll see. I'll be contacting Migration Services again on Friday for a further update. Smiley 

 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 22,768
Thanks: 9,470
Fixes: 153
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

There might be merit in identifying the range holder of the land line number. That may give Sky some clues over why their routing of the call from Sky mobile is going wrong.

It would be interesting to see if the number, when called from a Sky landline also misroutes.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

brfoster365
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-04-2022

Re: Landline or mobile problem?

Thanks @Townman,

If I call the Sky mobile mobile from my landline it does connect OK, and registers as the correct number.

I think this is what you mean ?

All very quiet from Sky Mobile community..