cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

interleaving switched off

bobineden
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-03-2010

interleaving switched off

Hi, been with plusnet a month now & reading about interleaving on this forum
just wondered who to contact to turn it off ?
i do a spot of online gaming on a ps3 & usually join a game at 80 to 100 ms ping
my ping tests to london on the pc are about 84ms
do you think having interleaving turned off will improve gaming ?
cheers Bob.
29 REPLIES
Steve
Pro
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 241
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: interleaving switched off

Welcome to the forum, My answer to your question is firstly i would consider just how stable your line is first.
bobineden
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-03-2010

Re: interleaving switched off

Hi & thanks for the reply
am not to teccy  Tongue how do i check if my line is stable ?
Cheers Bob
Steve
Pro
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 241
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: interleaving switched off

Well is your line speed the usual? Any major disconnections? Do you get disconnected from the web a lot? And whats your router stats like? By which i mean hec errors,fec errors etc?
You can get help with getting your line stats with this link...http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
bobineden
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-03-2010

Re: interleaving switched off

No disconnections my line has always been sound & never had problems
router stats:
ADSL Link  Downstream  Upstream
Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 4.0 db 2.0 db
Noise Margin 10.4 db 21.0 db
not sure about hec errors,fec errors etc ? but will google & try to find
Cheers bob.
Steve
Pro
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 241
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: interleaving switched off

Your stats there seem fine, just give plusnet a call or raise a ticket requesting interleaved to be switched off and see how you go.
You can get help with getting your line stats with this link...http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
bobineden
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-03-2010

Re: interleaving switched off

Hi, had look at the link & downloaded software
here are some stats:
downstream rx
Noise Margin:    10.3  dB
Connection Rate:  8128  Kbps
Line Attenuation: 4.0  dB
Power:            7.8  dBm
Max Rate:        10016 Kbps

SF:              20736375
SF Errors:        33
Reed Solomon:    2820147064
RS Corrected:    3044
RS Un-Corrected:  1257
HEC:              32
Errored Seconds:  17
Severe ES:        0
Interleave Depth: 64
Bitswaps:        0
upstream tx
Noise Margin:    21.0  dB
Connection Rate:  448  Kbps
Line Attenuation: 2.0  dB
Power:            12.2  dBm
Max Rate:        1052  Kbps

SF:              20738432
SF Errors:        8
Reed Solomon:    352553344
RS Corrected:    30
RS Un-Corrected:  0
HEC:              4
Errored Seconds:  0
Severe ES:        0
Interleave Depth: 8
Bitswaps:        0
totals
Total Uptimes (From SF counts):
WAN:  4 days, 01:56:17
LAN:  4 days, 01:56:17


CRC:  33
LOS:  0
LOF:  0
ES :  17
Bytes Transferred (ppp0):
  Tx: 170893802 (162.9 MiB)
  Rx: 1672223038 (1.5 GiB)
  IP address: 87.112.39.70
sorry for long post but am clueless now ? does it look O.K.  Shocked
Steve
Pro
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 241
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: interleaving switched off

No expert myself but i think your line stats are fine,you can ring Plusnet or raise a ticket explaining to them that you want interleaving off as your a gamer and see how you fare, Takes 24hrs to get it switched off and if it does cause you any problems you can get it switched back on again.
bobineden
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-03-2010

Re: interleaving switched off

hi, as a noob (as peeps call me on mw2  Angry  ) where/how do i  raise a ticket ?
Cheers Bob.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,213
Thanks: 909
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: interleaving switched off

Try this https://portal.plus.net/wizard/index.html?Ea82ChdSAqqwtYJcjZV%2Fjl8BeHfnW7ogQYILXVCBFsnFyRVJeEpVZrrG...
This is how I got there
Help and Support http://www.plus.net/support/?helpheader=support
Help Assistant (second row of links)
My Broadband Connection
DSL Max Interleaving
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: interleaving switched off

Quote
8128  Kbps

how come there syncing at a fastpath rate but there error counts look as thoe interleaving is on  Undecided
bobineden
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-03-2010

Re: interleaving switched off

Smiley hi & thanks Steve M & Oldjim
have sent a message to Help and Support requesting interleaving to be turned off
Cheers Bob.
Steve
Pro
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 241
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: interleaving switched off

Your welcome, Hopefully it will improve your gaming, Let us know how you get on Smiley
bobineden
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-03-2010

Re: interleaving switched off

Quote from: Asbo
Quote
8128  Kbps

how come there syncing at a fastpath rate but there error counts look as thoe interleaving is on  Undecided

Hi Asbo Dog,
Not sure what any of these numbers mean ?
they have allways been the same since my exchange was upgraded to 8mb 5 years ago
back then i could get that but its about 6.5-7.0 mb now on a speed test
but i can see the exchange from the back door
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,213
Thanks: 909
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: interleaving switched off

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/interleaving.htm
Quote
It should also be pointed out that whilst BTw state that applying interleaving shouldn't reduce your line speed, it does reduce the maximum line rate achievable from 8128kbps to 7616kbps due to the additional overhead required for check bytes.
Note: although BT state 7616 is maximum sync speed with interleaving, many instances of higher sync speeds have been reported by users. This is dependent upon your router being able to support S=1/2 mode which effectively combines two RS code words into a larger logical code word of 510 bytes (ANSI T1.413).

And no - I don't understand it either  Embarrassed