cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Port Forwarding

robhw
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-02-2021

Port Forwarding

I have read through a few posts about this and done what i think is correct, below is what I have done however, when I test the port it still saying it is closed. Please help, I'm trying to Host a private game server for my friends to connect to.

The first picture is the games IP and Port number assigned to it. the other screens are all the Hub options showing I have done what I Think is correct to get the port open. The last Picture (Port forwarding tester) from https://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ shows that the port is not open so I must of done something wrong.

14 REPLIES 14
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,538
Thanks: 6,307
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Port Forwarding

Can you connect to the server on your local lan?
It looks like you've configured the game and not the server in the first screenshot.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Dan_the_Van
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 407
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Port Forwarding

Hi @robhw 

The first screen shot.

Why are you using the loopback IP or is that correct?

The Port number shows 7.100 shouldn't it be 7100?

As @dvorak says can you connect to the server on the local lan?

Dan

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,538
Thanks: 6,307
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Port Forwarding

If the server was on the localhost then I guess that would be correct?
but I think we've only seen the game config and not the server config
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
robhw
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-02-2021

Re: Port Forwarding

Yeah, If I put the local lab in that part where it says 127.0.0.1 it doesn’t work. I configured the server too, I just haven’t put that screen shot up.
robhw
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-02-2021

Re: Port Forwarding

From the guides I seen this is the correct way to set the game config up, I have set the server up too, just haven’t included the screen shot of it.

It’s not clear in the picture but that is a comma, to make it 7100 (auto puts it in).

I can connect myself as it is, if I change anything to my local IP or external IP it doesn’t connect
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,538
Thanks: 6,307
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Port Forwarding

have you opened up the ports on your windows(?) firewall?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Dan_the_Van
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 407
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Port Forwarding

@robhw 

When you connect locally are you using the same PC as the server is running on? This could be why you can connect the loop back IP 127.0.0.1 only. You need to try connecting to the server from a second device to test correctly.

You would not use the external IP address as the port forwarding rules does the mapping for outside connections.

Dan.

robhw
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-02-2021

Re: Port Forwarding

my brother has tried connecting from his home onto the server and it inst allowing him on, just keeps saying attempting to connect - he is inputting my external IP address on the game config shown on original post.
attached to this post is the server config requested and also the windows firewall port 7100 access.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,538
Thanks: 6,307
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Port Forwarding

As Dan says you need to try and connect to the server on your local network from a different machine first to make sure that your server is working correctly.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
robhw
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-02-2021

Re: Port Forwarding

I don’t have a second one in my home.
Dan_the_Van
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 407
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Port Forwarding

@robhw 

So my understanding is unless you configure 127.0.0.1 on the server you are unable to connect locally.

What could be happening is the server will only accept a local loopback IP address, a connection from the same pc.

Try replacing 127.0.0.1 with 0.0.0.0 this might allow connections from any IP address.

Try locally then from external connection.

Dan.

robhw
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-02-2021

Re: Port Forwarding

With 0.0.0.0 on server config I can still connect using the same PC on the game client. I will ask my brother to re try getting on using my external IP address.

robhw
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-02-2021

Re: Port Forwarding

Surely if sites are telling me the port 7100 is closed then no one externally can use it?
Dan_the_Van
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 407
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Port Forwarding

Hi,

does https://www.canyouseeme.org/ still tell you port 7100 is closed?

On you server using a command prompt

c:\netstat -an | findstr 7100

what is the output text?

 

Dan