Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Ethernet Speed - Fast Wifi Speed

jab1
Legend
Fixes: 257

Re: Slow Ethernet Speed - Fast Wifi Speed

Which machine is this? It is more likely the Ethernet card.

John
PeterStocks
Dabbler

It's on my Mac. My work laptop is locked down so I cannot see those settings

jab1
Legend

'OK. Maybe I misread those specs, I don't know. @MisterW , @Dan_the_Van  - any ideas, please?

John
PeterStocks
Dabbler

No worries. It's not causing me any issues just want to know why the ethernet speed is slower than the wifi. And if there is something I can do about it

Its almost as if the router is limiting the speed to my MAC... but im not technically skilled so not sure.

Just done another test on the BT wholesale tester and its showing 95mbps down and 29 up.

The only other thing would be the ethernet connector I have a Belkin F2Cu020 adapter which I believe allows a 1gb connection

jab1
Legend

The Hub will NOT be limiting the speed, your latest test is now convincing me it is your gear - and the adapter would be limited by your Ethernet card, as previously said.

John
Baldrick1
Fixes: 420

It could be that the new CAT 5e cable is faulty. 1Gbps uses all 8 cores, 100Mbps uses only 4. I have never tried disconnecting just 1 of the cores not needed for 100Mbps to see if the link just reverts to  the lower speed. If I have a minute tomorrow I will make one up to see. 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

bgiles
Rising Star

@PeterStocks 

On macOS, you can check what speeds your hardware supports by going to;

Settings > Network > [YourEthernetDeviceName] > Advanced > Hardware

Temporally change the Configure: setting to Manual, then see what options appear on in the Speed: drop down list.

The default setting for Configure: is 'Automatic', with the actual connection speed shown below it.

Plusnet SoGEA
DrayTek Vigor2762 VoIP Router