cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP Marketing

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,407
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

FTTP Marketing

Phone service apart, have PlusNet done something sensible in calling the FTTP options

Full Fibre 38

Full Fibre 74

Full Fibre 145

 

The OR wholesale products are 40/10, 80/20 & 150/? with a bit of overhead reducing speeds. Hence when people run speed tests they'll get near their advertised speeds - and be happy!!!

 

I just got 37.13 & 10.85 abeit with a disappointing ping of 26.

 

Brian

101 REPLIES 101
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: FTTP Marketing

From what I can see, these are the FTTP products we're offering. As you can tell, there's a pattern. Cheesy 

36/10 (40/10 provision)

74/20 (80/20 provision)

145/30 (160/30 provision)

300/50 (330/50 provision)

500/75 (550/75 provision)

900/115 (1000/115 provision)

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,261
Thanks: 9,766
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: FTTP Marketing

There is an approximate pattern - 80/20 and 160/30 are out of step (and not instep with each other) and a little more optimistic than the others! 🤔

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

ukguy1
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 216
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎29-06-2016

Re: FTTP Marketing

Full fibre? Is it available then?

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,610
Thanks: 6,662
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: FTTP Marketing

For existing customers, yes.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,407
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FTTP Marketing

@ukguy1 

Only available by phone to existing customers currently.

 

Note there is no phone service attached to the product so you lose any phone number you may have (if this matters).

 

Brian

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,261
Thanks: 9,766
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: FTTP Marketing


@ukguy1 wrote:

Full fibre? Is it available then?


Its available from Plusnet now ... if its available on your street / road ... but not otherwise!

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

ecomergy
Rising Star
Posts: 75
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎17-02-2015

Re: FTTP Marketing

Hey Gandalf,

I'm on the original FTTP Trial and have been for yonks. Does this mean I can finally upgrade to a faster speed? I assume I'll have to call but with the fact I already have FTTP on the original trial confuse things?

ukguy1
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 216
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎29-06-2016

Re: FTTP Marketing

Oh [-Censored-], might move to BT business then as that comes with static ip and digital voice!

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,610
Thanks: 6,662
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: FTTP Marketing


@ecomergy wrote:

Hey Gandalf,

I'm on the original FTTP Trial and have been for yonks. Does this mean I can finally upgrade to a faster speed? I assume I'll have to call but with the fact I already have FTTP on the original trial confuse things?


I believe others have already done that

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
ecomergy
Rising Star
Posts: 75
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎17-02-2015

Re: FTTP Marketing

A further complication might be that I'm a business customer. I guess the best thing to do is to call during office hours and have a chat?

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,407
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FTTP Marketing

@ecomergy 

You can but ask. You would need to go on contract so ask about prices. You at least should get a Hub2 out of it.

 

The real complication would be your phone line if you still use copper for this. As things stand you might lose it - @Gandalf might be able to shed some light on matters.

 

Brian

ecomergy
Rising Star
Posts: 75
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎17-02-2015

Re: FTTP Marketing

Not worried about the copper phone line. Not used it in ages. I would however want to port the number over to a VOIP provider for incoming leads from clients with old address books or out of date websites!

beeceegee
Pro
Posts: 611
Thanks: 75
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎27-11-2012

Re: FTTP Marketing


@ecomergy wrote:
I would however want to port the number over to a VOIP provider for incoming leads from clients with old address books or out of date websites!

I'm on the trial too.I don't know if being a business account will make a difference, but I have just ported my number successfully, leaving the fttp service intact. Many others have already done this over the years.

You probably need to liaise with @Gandalf who babysat the procedure and ensured that the porting away of my landline number did not kill the broadband account.

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,407
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FTTP Marketing

@ecomergy 

Like @beeceegee the wizard helped me (and 3 neighbours) onto the FTTP Trial and then to cease our landlines.

 

It might just be possible to port your number and, once gone, then look to upgrade your speed.

 

Brian