cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP Installation

Prologica
Rising Star
Posts: 104
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2020

FTTP Installation

Hi all,

 

Openreach are installing FTTP tomorrow. It will be connected from a nearby telegraph pole. Our current anchor point is high up on a gable of the house. Currently the copper connection runs down to a bedroom window and in through the window frame.

The bedroom isn’t a great place for the router really - thick brick walls in much of the house and two large chimneys stacks running through bedroom/dining room and lounge/master bedroom. Currently we use power plugs from router  (AV plugs) to extend signal to the Smart TV and a WAP set up with Baldrick’s help a couple of years back. We won’t want the external box sited up on the gable so I can only see the cable running from the anchor point, down the side of the bedroom window, under it, down the side of the front door porch canopy to the external box at ground level, then another cable alongside this running back to the bedroom window and in the frame again?

I can’t see how I can site the ONT, router, MYCloud servers and power plugs (if still required) any more centrally without horrid cable runs internally or externally. 
Anyone had similar experience and found good solutions? And how large is the ONT overall? I’ve seen varying dimensions online.

thanks!

35 REPLIES 35
Correlated
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎26-07-2021

Re: FTTP Installation

Well, your house is kind of pretty much perfect.

Get the new cable chopped in to the render (so it doesn't sit proud). Render over it.

Prologica
Rising Star
Posts: 104
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2020

Re: FTTP Installation

Thanks for the compliment @Correlated . I don’t think we’ll be chopping in as we only had the house re rendered and painted last year and the tyrolean finish is v hard to match in. We will paint the cables when the weather warms up.

Its the cable runs, ONT and router location I’d appreciate advice on. Thanks

Prologica
Rising Star
Posts: 104
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2020

Re: FTTP Installation

If it helps here’s a really rough sketch of the internal layout of both floors

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,144
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FTTP Installation

@Prologica 

OpenReach should be able to run cable externally to where you want the fibre to enter your property. It needs to be near a power source.

 

You speak to the engineer on the day to see what can (and can't) be done.

 

Do let us know how it goes.

 

Brian

 

Edit : The ONT is about the size of a single power socket and maybe 30mm in depth.

Prologica
Rising Star
Posts: 104
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2020

Re: FTTP Installation

This might help show the external options

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,518
Thanks: 5,123
Fixes: 414
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: FTTP Installation

@Prologica 

I can’t imagine Openreach routing the cable back to the first floor window. I would expect it to enter your house at ground floor level. Is there a convenient spot where they can drill through with a power socket available on the inside?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Correlated
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎26-07-2021

Re: FTTP Installation

Ideally in the dining room or bedroom/office depending on which is more easily accessible via outside walls.

I'd make sure there are a couple of free sockets available in the area (after the ONT + router) so you could use Powerline Adapters + Wifi access point.

 

I use that in my Lounge and get full speed through it.

 

Power line adapter, ethernet cable, wifi access point.

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,187
Thanks: 616
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: FTTP Installation

@Correlated, our BT line (now disused) used to enter into our loft through a gable end  and ran internally before dropping down into a bedroom (behind a built-in wardrobe).

As you have a similar gable end and an office upstairs, something similar may be possible? What is the access to your loft like, and is it boarded?

 

Correlated
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎26-07-2021

Re: FTTP Installation

This isn't my house

 

Think you meant @Prologica

 

Prologica
Rising Star
Posts: 104
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2020

Re: FTTP Installation

Hi @corringham That’s a thought. The loft is a bit of a warren, two thirds boarded with roll insulation throughout, but not boarded at the gable end where the cable enters. Might be tricky though to find a point to drop the cable down!

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,187
Thanks: 616
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: FTTP Installation

@Prologica , it is often easier to find a place where a cable can go UP through a ceiling than a place for it to go down. Drill a 1/4" hole and poke a thin garden cane or similar through - with a bit of wriggling they usually go through loft insulation (but not boarding 😉 ) to show the location from above.

@Correlated, sorry for the mis-attributation.

Prologica
Rising Star
Posts: 104
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2020

Re: FTTP Installation

@corringham understood. The bedroom/office is under a flat roof though so may be very tricky finding route into the loft rather than up into the external wall. Room has coving too making it a bit more tricky.

From outside, would they install cable over two areas of flat roof and over another gable roof to reach the Bedroom/office?

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,187
Thanks: 616
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: FTTP Installation

Ah, that makes it more tricky - I don't recommend drilling up though a flat roof!

I think a cable crossing two flat roofs sounds like a bad idea. It may be better to go from the office through an internal wall if there is a nearby room with suitable ceiling with loft above? Coving can be used to hide cable runs, but it can get a bit clatty.

merlin1
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎23-02-2011

Re: FTTP Installation

I had a similar installation in December. The overhead fibre is pinned to the brickwork down to a connection box ca 0.5m from the ground.  Apparently it has to be mounted at this level as the fibre jointing machine cannot be carried up a ladder.  A different fibre runs from this box ca 15cm square and grey, up and along outer brickwork to a new entrypoint.  Through the wall to the ONT sited in a bedroom used as an office. Router sits near the ONT and both are powered from a UPS.  Cat6 cable then to various location in the house. Cat6 ethernet cable is the best solution but if you cannot fit that use powerline adapters.  WiFi not too good through solid walls.

Watch that the engineer takes out the old copper lines, he left mine and even tied new fibre to them and the TV aerial lead with cable ties.