cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wifi basically ceased working

chino2468

Wifi basically ceased working

Hi,

This is my first time posting at this forum. I know others have posted similar or related issues, but I have struggled to find a thread where my issue is addressed directly, so I decided to post it and see how it went. To be honest. I've done everything I knew and I could to sort this out, but I'm not a techie at all.

Since I joined Plusnet on March I have had issues with the connection. We have a small flat and own 2 laptops, an Echo Dot and 2 mobile. I work with my laptop, which requires being able to attend videocalls, download emails, the usual. Other than that, we watch some streaming services and have a quite basic usage. I started with the basic package and out of goodwill, upgraded to the next level to see if that would sort out the issue. It didn't.

I have no idea why the wifi has never worked as it should. When I call the tech support, I get told everything is in order systematically. But the quality of the wifi has consistently degraded to the point where it's down most of the time, or where it struggles to even open simple websites. Having a call with family and friends is annoying, and I have to use 3G/4G to work, as the constant disconnects, poor image and sound quality and drop outs make it impossible.

It should be noted we own 2 Apple computers, which means none of our devices have ethernet sockets. And to be honest, the router is in the hall by the flat's door, 3-4mts from where I sit to work. So I don't understand how there is a constant poor connectivity level.