cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade from ADSL

FIXED
Beermonsta
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Registered: 08-09-2015

Upgrade from ADSL

Ive just (Friday 25th) decided to upgrade my connection and wondered a few things, Im due to go live on the 2nd, will my router be posted out in time, and on my member centre, the fibre order is dated 01/01/1970 is this anything to be concerned about?

 

Thanks In Advance Smiley

12 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

Fix
Hello there,

The router should arrive in time and I'd say that that date isn't something to be worried about.

If you private message me with your username I'll be happy to check up on the order for you tomorrow morning when I'm in the office.
I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Beermonsta
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Registered: 08-09-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

Thank You Anoush, PM sent

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

Thank you for your PM.


I can confirm your fibre order is in progress, but for the 08/12/2016. It's been pushed back by Openreach due to engineer availability in your area I'm afraid. The service will go live at any point up to midnight on the day and you may need to reboot your router afterwards.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Beermonsta
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Registered: 08-09-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

Good Morning!

 

Thanks for the update Anoush

 

I cant say that I'm surprised about Openreach, recently they have been about as much use as a chocolate teapot in my area, but it does give me a little more time to get things prepared for the switchover!

 

Thanks again.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

No probs, sorry for the delay. I've just remembered I didn't check up on your new router order; they are usually ordered automatically so should be OK but I'll confirm tomorrow.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Beermonsta
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Registered: 08-09-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

No worries Anoush, with the OP pushback, it gives the equally useless Royal Mail to get their act together!

 

Thanks for the update

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

Your notification just reminded me to check your account now. I've ordered your router manually now so you should get this within the next 3-5 days, in time for the fibre activation.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Beermonsta
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Registered: 08-09-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

Just got the email to say that my fibre connection is live, but was not due to go live till the 8th.

Could you please check the status of my order before I start to connect things up!!!
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,258
Thanks: 183
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

If you ADSL is still working then the upgrade probably has not gone through yet. We have seen a few examples of that email going out early recently.

That said if you now have your Hub One, then you could connect it up now or over the weekend ready for the 8th, they work with ADSL and VDSL. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,366
Thanks: 490
Fixes: 45
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

Ignore the email, it's wrong!. Your account has changed to Fibre but the actual upgrade won't happen until the date Anoush gave you.

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 594
Thanks: 214
Fixes: 10
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

You've probably received the notorious "Your broadband product change is now complete" email which does not mean you have been upgraded yet. No wonder support is so busy with these confusing e-mails. Your account type has changed but you will not get fibre until BT connect it up in the cabinet. I've had the same myself, ordered an upgrade got the e-mail but after chasing PlusNet they tell me there is a problem with the order which should be resolved by today but no response yet. Looking at the broadband checker says fibre will not be available until 17th January - not looking good.Sad 

Beermonsta
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Registered: 08-09-2015

Re: Upgrade from ADSL

Thanks for the clarification guys, much appreciated..I thought it was a bit weird seeing that I can actually see my cabinet from my living room and no-one had been near it!

 

Ill leave connecting up the Hub One till I go live properly, I have to get my moneys worth out of this Netgear router!!