cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 05-04-2017

Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

When we moved to Plusnet we paid for a static IP address. We have registered this IP address and associated URL with a DNS  service and set the port forwarding for the services we want.  The server we are trying to connect to us on, and our Plusnet hub manager can see it.  The firewall is set to disabled.  We can resolve the URL (using nslookup in a command prompt) and we can access the server directly from within our network. What we need to do that doesn't work is to be  able to access the server using the registered URL. We can access the server using the static IP address  , so we have confirmed that port forwarding is working.  But why can't we access the server using the URL. What else do I have to do?

30 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

@DebbieR - As you can access the domain using the IP address what you describe is more than likely a DNS issue. So when, where and how did you register the domain? Are you able to have someone outside of your office (or where the server is housed) to test the IP and domain from another network?

It can take some time for a new registration to propagate around the DNS servers. 

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

The DNS is register through DYN and was registered a few years ago but updated with our new Plusnet IP static address a week ago.  The fact that nslookup returns the correct IP address suggests that our DNS entry has been propagated  onto the internet.

Outside of the office we can access the server using the IP address but not the domain name. But outside the office nslookup still resolves correctly. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

OK @DebbieR, all of that makes sense and implies to me that the port forwarding is not configured correctly on the router you are using. As you’ll be aware running a server on your LAN it is best to have a static (or DHCP reserved) IP so that it never changes. Is this the case with your setup?

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

Yes we have a DHCP reserved IP address for our server.  Connecting from outside the home network to our PlusNet Static address works. So we know the port forwarding works.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,479
Thanks: 591
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

Since you have a static IP then <username>.plus.com should also work , does it ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

Yes, of course!

Champnet
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 414
Thanks: 75
Registered: 25-07-2007

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS


 


The DNS is register through DYN and was registered a few years ago but updated with our new Plusnet IP static address a week ago.

 

 

 

Has it ever worked Huh

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

Yes, it worked for years when we were with BT using a NETGEAR router. We recently moved to PlusNet, paid for a static IP address, set the port forwarding on the PlusNet Hub Manager, and updated DYN with the changed static IP address.  This is all we did previously so we are wondering if there is something else we have to.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

@DebbieR - With all that has been said then the only common thing here is DYN, as everything else is working as you would expect then it makes sense to double check that you’ve entered the correct details at DYN as it appears to be the source of the error.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,479
Thanks: 591
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

@DebbieR, did you try your <username>.plus.com url ?

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

My user name is Huh?@plusdsl.net, so I tried putting this in a browser and it didn't work. What does this tell me?

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,479
Thanks: 591
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

No, your username is the bit BEFORE the @plusdsl.net  If you use a url of username.plus.com, then with a static IP then that will resolve to your IP. Try using nslookup to check it..

edit: just a thought , your browser isn't automatically inserting a www prefix to the url you are entering is it ?

Champnet
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 414
Thanks: 75
Registered: 25-07-2007

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

From outside of the office can you ping the domain name ? See what, if any, IP address it returns.

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

But if the DYN is incorrect why does the command nslookup resolve to the new PlusNet static IP address?