cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line speed query

FIXED
digitalham
Rising Star
Posts: 96
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-12-2013

Line speed query

Given these line stats..
Line Stats
Downstream	Upstream
TCM(Trellis Coded Modulation)	
On                   On
SNR	
10.5 dB           9.6 dB
Line Attenuation	
8.1 dB             0.1 dB
Path Mode	
FastPath         FastPath
Interleave Depth	
1                    1
Data Rate	
79999 kbps   20000 kbps
MAX Rate	
109048 kbps 25887 kbps
POWER	
0.2 dbm        0.8 dbm
INP	
1.1 symbols  0.0 symbols
CRC	
4252             0
... can somebody please explain why my Plusnet recorded linespeed shows...
Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
71 Mb
8 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Line speed query

I've tested your line @digitalham and I can see your router in sync at

Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 80.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps

Which indicates the profile on your account is set correctly.

From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,155
Thanks: 474
Fixes: 19
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Line speed query

Surely the "Current Line Speed" of 71 is too low for a sync of 80?

@digitalham What modem/router is it? I think there might have been some weird issue in the past where someone was using an Asus router which made the IP Profile fail to update.

Edit to add: What is the IP Profile from the BT speedtester further diagnostics (don't bother rebooting anything, just run the test)?

digitalham
Rising Star
Posts: 96
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-12-2013

Re: Line speed query

The BT tester also shows that the profile is incorrect but as PN seem to be incapable of even delivering the profile speed at 10am on a Saturday morning the profile isn't the deciding factor on performance

Download speedachieved during the test was - 67.39 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 40 Mbps-71.04 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 71.04 Mbps

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 15.14Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps 

 

It is an Asus DSL AC68U. There is a firmware update waiting installation so I'll do that. Maybe the reboot will get the profile updated.

digitalham
Rising Star
Posts: 96
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-12-2013

Re: Line speed query

Fix

Well the reboot got the profile fixed and presumably PN will get the update in due course...

 

Download speedachieved during the test was - 67.14 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 40 Mbps-77.43 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 77.43 Mbps

 

The upstream speed is still rather disappointing though....

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 15.34Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Line speed query

I've just manually matched the IP profile of your line on our systems to 77400 kbps, if you disconnect/reconnect your PPP session you should be getting a slight increase in your throughput.

From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
digitalham
Rising Star
Posts: 96
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-12-2013

Re: Line speed query

Thanks. I see that the profile is now correct and it has improved download a bit.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Line speed query

Awesomeness Thumbs Up glad to hear it.

From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
digitalham
Rising Star
Posts: 96
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-12-2013

Re: Line speed query

I'm guessing it went low after some instability or other and when DLM restored full sync it failed to alter the profile for some reason. Anyhow it is correct now and if it happens again I can just reboot to see if that sorts it out. I would have this time but was loathe to in case it made things worse rather than better.