cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gateway Check Issues.

FIXED
Highlighted
Alucidnation
Grafter
Posts: 180
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-01-2015

Gateway Check Issues.

Just checking my gateway to see if i had been booted and i get the following...

 

Sorry, the tool failed to identify your gateway; this does not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.

Posting the following information as a reply to the Gateway Checker Update topic in the Community Announcements forum will help us to diagnose the problem.

  • core1-hu0-9-0-1.southbank.ukcore.bt.net (195.99.127.2) 5.010 ms
  • be10.psb-ir01.plusnet.bt.net (195.99.125.131) 5.783 ms

 

 

 

I tried to report this in the dedicated thread but its been locked.

 

Anyone know why i am getting this message?

87 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,807
Thanks: 82
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

I would guess you've been moved to Plusnets new network.

https://community.plus.net/t5/Plusnet-Feedback/Plusnet-New-Network/td-p/1300536

Luzern
Pro
Posts: 2,765
Thanks: 198
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

What % of users are now over? I don't think I am and can't recall how to tell anyhow! ;(

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 8,841
Thanks: 374
Fixes: 34
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Check Issues.


Alucidnation wrote:

Just checking my gateway to see if i had been booted and i get the following...

Sorry, the tool failed to identify your gateway; this does not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.

Posting the following information as a reply to the Gateway Checker Update topic in the Community Announcements forum will help us to diagnose the problem.

  • core1-hu0-9-0-1.southbank.ukcore.bt.net (195.99.127.2) 5.010 ms
  • be10.psb-ir01.plusnet.bt.net (195.99.125.131) 5.783 ms

I tried to report this in the dedicated thread but its been locked.

Anyone know why i am getting this message?


Thanks for reporting this. You've been moved to the new network. Your gateway will be shown as the Internet Router psb-ir01. Changes to the gateway checker to pick this up will be going live in a few minutes.

Sorry about the reporting problem which is a side effect of posting rules on the new Community forum. I'll contact the Mods to find a solution to this.

David
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 8,841
Thanks: 374
Fixes: 34
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

Fix

spraxyt wrote:

Thanks for reporting this. You've been moved to the new network. Your gateway will be shown as the Internet Router psb-ir01. Changes to the gateway checker to pick this up will be going live in a few minutes.


@Alucidnation

The Gateway Checker update is now live. Does it show your gateway as psb-ir01 in Southbank Point of Presence now?

David
Alucidnation
Grafter
Posts: 180
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-01-2015

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

Yes indeed all sorted thanks!

 

Can you tell what date we were swapped over?

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,071
Thanks: 1,059
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

Yes it has been some time since PN posted a update

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 8,841
Thanks: 374
Fixes: 34
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Check Issues.


Alucidnation wrote:

Can you tell what date we were swapped over?


Sorry I don't have access to that information.

David
Alucidnation
Grafter
Posts: 180
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-01-2015

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

OK thanks anyway.

 

 

Connection so far seems a bit more stable, connection speed the same.

 

Ping times have dropped considerably to around 10ms from nearly 20ms.

 

Not sure if I can, or even need to gateway hop, as I haven't had any reason to. Yet.

 

 

Alucidnation
Grafter
Posts: 180
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-01-2015

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

Just checking my gateway again as things have gone a bit odd and i now get....

 

 

Custom diagnostic check on IP 147.147.192.215

Array
(
    [1] =>  7  core2-hu0-18-0-0.southbank.ukcore.bt.net (62.172.103.24)  4.533 ms
)

Sorry, the tool failed to identify your gateway; this does not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.

Posting the following information as a reply to the Gateway Checker Update topic in the Community Announcements forum will help us to diagnose the problem.

  • core2-hu0-18-0-0.southbank.ukcore.bt.net (62.172.103.24) 4.533 ms
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 8,841
Thanks: 374
Fixes: 34
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

@Alucidnation Thanks for the report. What did you mean by "things have gone a bit odd"? General access to websites on the Internet or just the gateway checker? Huh

The 147.147.0.0/16 IP range you are on now is another new one though whois shows it was reassigned from ARIN (USA) to RIPE (Europe) so hopefully geolocation will be less troublesome.

The result you got from the checker implies the Internet Router that trace passed through does not respond to ICMP pings. That will need to be looked at by Plusnet.

A standard 3-sample UDP trace from the command line on the Usertools box shows a psb-ir01 gateway twice and no response once. Repeating this with ICMP pings gives no response 3 times.

Whilst ICMP echo behaviour needs to be looked at none of this implies routing should be affected. Is your feeling that it is?

David
Alucidnation
Grafter
Posts: 180
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-01-2015

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

At meaning odd, I meant that general browsing 'snappiness' isn't there like it was and i also have an internet radio that started to buffer again (like it did before when i was on the old network) which is why i did a gateway check.

 

As for the command line reference, that is how my browser pasted it so i didn't perform any technical checks as i dont know how..

 

Still noticing things run a little slower in the evenings as well.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 8,841
Thanks: 374
Fixes: 34
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

@Alucidnation Thanks for the explanations.


Alucidnation wrote:

At meaning odd, I meant that general browsing 'snappiness' isn't there like it was and i also have an internet radio that started to buffer again (like it did before when i was on the old network) which is why i did a gateway check.
...
Still noticing things run a little slower in the evenings as well.


Performance issues are something Plusnet need to investigate - @bobpullen?

 


Alucidnation wrote:

As for the command line reference, that is how my browser pasted it so i didn't perform any technical checks as i dont know how..


Sorry, my references to 'command line' testing related to checks I'd done which are not available through browsers. So additional information beyond that you could gather and report. Smiley

For information the 3-sample UDP trace gave

 7  core1-hu0-9-0-1.southbank.ukcore.bt.net
              (195.99.127.2)  5.747 ms
    core2-hu0-18-0-0.southbank.ukcore.bt.net
              (62.172.103.24)  3.589 ms  3.753 ms
 8  195.99.125.139 (195.99.125.139)  3.645 ms
    *
    be10.psb-ir01.plusnet.bt.net
               (195.99.125.131)  4.710 ms

It is the router shown by '*' in hop 8 which didn't respond to the traceroute probe and which Plusnet need to follow up.

David
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,754
Thanks: 596
Fixes: 57
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Gateway Check Issues.


spraxyt wrote:

@Alucidnation Thanks for the explanations.


Alucidnation wrote:

At meaning odd, I meant that general browsing 'snappiness' isn't there like it was and i also have an internet radio that started to buffer again (like it did before when i was on the old network) which is why i did a gateway check.
...
Still noticing things run a little slower in the evenings as well.


Performance issues are something Plusnet need to investigate - @bobpullen?

There's no reason your performance should be suffering on the new network, if anything latency should be better. I can see you've since disconnected/reconnected and the gateway checker now looks to be working. If it is, and you're still experiencing performance problems, then the two things are unrelated.

 

spraxyt wrote:
It is the router shown by '*' in hop 8 which didn't respond to the traceroute probe and which Plusnet need to follow up.

I've asked our engineers to take a look. It's definitely not affecting all of the IR's.


Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Alucidnation
Grafter
Posts: 180
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-01-2015

Re: Gateway Check Issues.

Ok thanks,

 

However, i have not disconnected/reconnected since my post on Sunday, unless you mean something else?

 

This is my latest gateway check..

 

Custom diagnostic check on IP 147.147.192.215

Array
(
    [1] =>  7  core2-hu0-18-0-0.southbank.ukcore.bt.net (62.172.103.24)  4.988 ms
)

Sorry, the tool failed to identify your gateway; this does not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.

Posting the following information as a reply to the Gateway Checker Update topic in the Community Announcements forum will help us to diagnose the problem.

  • core2-hu0-18-0-0.southbank.ukcore.bt.net (62.172.103.24) 4.988 ms