cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

usenet.plus.net

andyl
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-04-2008

Re: usenet.plus.net

Yep I am another 'more established' user who has noticed this and raised an issue.  Also another user who has a static IP.

 

For me it went down yesterday afternoon, and is still down.

Bogbody
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 174
Thanks: 46
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎23-02-2020

Re: usenet.plus.net

I've just tried to access usnet using Thunderbird. I'm now being asked for a username and password.
So ... it's not working
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,447
Thanks: 3,142
Fixes: 194
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: usenet.plus.net


@Jaggies wrote:

Don't think it is Geo-related, as I have a static IP address. More likely Plusnet haven't paid the bill...


We definitely have paid the bill.

Authentication is IP-based so you should never need to enter login credentials.

The allowed IP definitions look perfectly fine to me, so whatever the issue is - it is likely within Giganews' remit.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,407
Thanks: 2,284
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: usenet.plus.net


@Jaggies wrote:

Just to add my name to the list of those also affected. Using news.plus.net here.


+1

Just chipping in to show there are quite a few of us usenetters still around.  😉

To err is human; to purr, feline
ADSL2+   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
Jaggies
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,653
Thanks: 28
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: usenet.plus.net

Sorry, just being facetious...
I have a vague memory of something like this happening before, but can't recall the details. I mainly use news.individual.net, only using the Plusnet news server for the Plusnet groups, sparsely populated thoug they are these days.
36bits
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎09-04-2019

Re: usenet.plus.net

Looks like this has been fixed now.

Jonathan
thejudge
Grafter
Posts: 614
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: usenet.plus.net

Started doing this to me yesterday (in Thunderbird, just like the OP), but it seems to have been fixed/fixed itself in the last couple of hours.

FootPlate
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: usenet.plus.net

Not here it hasn't - it is still asking for authentication.

 

Stoker
Rising Star
Posts: 120
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎12-08-2012

Re: usenet.plus.net

Yes working for me now.

andrewww
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎25-03-2014

Re: usenet.plus.net

text.news.plus.net is working for me again now. Looks like it's fixed.

BernardInSussex
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: usenet.plus.net

usenet.plus.net now working again for me as of 6pm 11 Jan 2022.

FootPlate
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: usenet.plus.net

OK. My system was still requesting authentication until I did a reboot. Looks ok now - must have been something cached somewhere.

 

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,407
Thanks: 2,284
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: usenet.plus.net

👍🏽

To err is human; to purr, feline
ADSL2+   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
druck
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎17-08-2007

Re: usenet.plus.net

Here's the response to my ticket.

Dear Mr Ruck,

Thanks for getting in touch to let us know of the issues you are experiencing with Usenet currently.  Many of our customers use this forum (similar to the forums on the Plus.net website) so we have raised this as an incident.  It has been identified that the issue is with the vendor of the Usenet service (a company called Giganews).  They have been informed and this will be looked at, there is nothing we can currently do due to this being a third party company responsible for the fix, but we will continue to monitor the issue where we can.



Kind regards,  
[CSA Removed]

 

 

Moderators Note: CSA name removed as per Forum rules

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,447
Thanks: 3,142
Fixes: 194
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: usenet.plus.net

Thanks all.

I'm not party to the specifics, but we also received word from Giganews last night confirming the issue has been rectified.

Shout if things go wobbly again.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵