Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's this OpenReach equipment?

gandb1
Grafter
Fixes: 2

What's this OpenReach equipment?

PICT0219.JPGPICT0222.JPG

It appeared on a pole a couple of days ago, about 100m from our house.  We had optical cable strung up about 3 years ago and had despaired of ever having it connected to anything! The optical cable was put up at the end of the SuperFast Cymru project, and not connected before the project ended. But this looks promising,,, maybe we will get FTTP before PlusNet offers it!

14 REPLIES 14
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: What's this OpenReach equipment?

I'm no expert, but that looks like FTTP equipment to me.

John
gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Fixes: 17

I’m sure that @jab1 is correct but it looks a total eyesore to me.

Is this the best BT can do.

We are born into history and history is born into us.
flanzm
Pro
Fixes: 15

This is exactly what FTTP looks like. We've 20 poles in our village and they all look like this.
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 59

@gleneagles  I don't what you expect Openreach ( not BT) to do if the phone lines are supplied from poles. the FTTP connection equipment will have to go on those poles, if you are supplied from poles and FTTP was offered to you would you turn it down because you think it's an eyesore.🙄 

What about massive power transformers up on poles, they are really ugly.

jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

@gleneagles depends how high up the pole, I suppose.

John
flanzm
Pro
Fixes: 15

The kit is about 2-2.5 meters up the pole.  We've had one pole aroud here where the fibre tray (shown on 2nd picture) has actually been smashed off the pole from kids hitting it with a football.  It's only held on by a plastic bracket, bolted to the pole, and now it's swinging in the wind!

I do wonder longer term what the failure/vandalism rate is going to be.