cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Totalise web site

PatrickS
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-10-2019

Totalise web site

Many years ago, when I had a totalise account (before the days of madasafish), there was webspace provided in the shape of a directory at www.users.totalise.co.uk/~shields/  and I had various data usefully stored there.

I have just noticed that it can no longer be accessed.  Is that right or has the address changed?   Is there an equivalent facility for me with plusnet?

Patrick

6 REPLIES 6
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,595
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Totalise web site

If you joined Plusnet many years ago, you got 500MB of web space. That was withdrawn for new accounts - maybe 5-8 years ago.

But I've still got mine. 🐵

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,024
Thanks: 5,355
Fixes: 1,339
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Totalise web site


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Tech Help to Everything Else.

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
RobPN
Hero
Posts: 4,335
Thanks: 2,157
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Totalise web site


@VileReynard wrote:

If you joined Plusnet many years ago, you got 500MB of web space. 

 


I don't think it was as generous as that, I remember 250MB, well that's what mine was/is.

 

Edit:  removed part of preceding post from quote

VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,595
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Totalise web site

I don't actually use it (hardly at all) so you may be right - the oldest file dates from 2008!

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 22,043
Thanks: 7,572
Fixes: 1,274
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Totalise web site

Hi @PatrickS I've checked your Madasafish account and the ability to access your webspace allowance (Of up to 100MB) is definitely still available. I've discussed this with a colleague from our networks team and we can see your webpages are still available however there's no index.html file, so the directory isn't loading correctly.

I'd recommend logging into the FTP server www.users.totalise.co.uk through an FTP client using your Madasafish username and password, and creating the index file as the homepage, and your website should then load normally.

I've also checked your Plusnet account and it doesn't look like you signed up with any webspace allocation there.

Let us know how it goes. I hope this helps. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
PatrickS
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-10-2019

Re: Totalise web site

I got distracted, but have just got back and found out the problem.

 

The link I was using did not specify HTTP or HTTPS and it was defaulting to the latter, but that failed to conntect.  When I made it explcitly the former, that worked perfectly.