Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

School website

home99
Grafter

School website

Hi,
As a school governor I have been asked to investigate the possibilty of a school website.  Its only a small school so content will not be huge.  As I have no experience of web sites I have done some research on the internet into free website building for schools. 
This organisation, www.schools.ik.org, appears to offer this service with a basic free website.  Can I ask if anyone has heard of this organisation or know of any other that offers this service, or indeed know of a better approach.
Appreciate any assistance you can offer.
Regards
Dave 
11 REPLIES 11
klyne
Grafter

Re: School website

Dave
You might want to have a look at this website http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/customs/bankholidays.html as an example and perhaps they would be willing to help another school.
David
chillypenguin
Grafter

I recommend that you take a look at Site@School
Its an easy to use and setup CMS (Content Management System) designed specially for School web sites. Once you have this up and running anyone can add content without any web creation skills. Even the kids if you let them.
In fact IMHO it makes a great simple CMS for any purpose, once you get your head around the school based roles.
Chilly
PS I have run it on the PlusNet CGI servers in the past.
home99
Grafter

Hi Chilly,
Many thanks for the info on the site.  I have had a poke around and am I correct in assuming that you browse the CMS (portal) tree and decide which software you like.  Then download it, adjust it to how you want it to look and then upload it to a host (apologies for the simplistic description but this is the level I am at).
Therefore CMS is used instead of creating a web page via FrontPage etc?
Regards
Dave
chillypenguin
Grafter

Yep!