cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SQL error

FIXED
geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 82
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

SQL error

I have a small forum (2 users) on my ccgi webspace.

At some point last week it started not loading, instead presenting the error

General Error

SQL ERROR [ mysqli ]

Unknown database 'twinnies_ccgigeehaw671788' [1049]

An sql error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact an administrator if this problem persists.

 

I thought it might just be a short term glitch but as of a few minutes ago this error is still presenting itself.

I have not changed anything for months regarding this forum, and on checking  MySQL manager it shows the database as being available. 

My non ccgi website is loading normally.

Has anything changed server side that may be causing this, it would not be the first time ….

24 REPLIES 24
Mads
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,872
Thanks: 205
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: SQL error

Hey @geehawk,

 

Thanks for getting in touch with us.

I have checked over your account and can see all domains are active and up to date. Could you specify which domain you are having trouble with?

 

Thank you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team


geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 82
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: SQL error

 

http://www.theclubman.co.uk/forum.htm is the link to the ccgi forum page which is throwing up the error.

The base website/domain is working fine.

 

Mads
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,872
Thanks: 205
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: SQL error

Thanks for getting back to us with that information @geehawk.

 

So I have just taken a look over the link you've posted above, everything seems to be working on your main website apart from the forums. Is there anything that you have changed on the website i.e. coding different? Have you updated the web page recently?

 

Thanks

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team


jtonline
Grafter
Posts: 73
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎21-03-2008

Re: SQL error

I wonder if Hostopia have been tinkering with things, because my WordPress site has recently stopped working.  I'm getting an Internal Server Error in Internet Explorer and an 'Error establishing a database connection' in Chrome.  I'm going to check some files over this evening in case a Wordpress auto-update has messed up.

I believe phpBB has a config.php file.  It may be worth you checking yours with a text editor to make sure the database location and login credentials are still correct.

geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 82
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: SQL error

@Mads As I said, I have not changed anything for months.

 

@jtonline I'll take a look ...

TheMightyAJ
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,251
Thanks: 142
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: SQL error

Hi @geehawk,

Please let us know if everything appears to be fine with the config.php file using a text editor, as @jtonline has suggested. If this doesn't seem to be the problem then please let us know so we can discuss the matter further.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 82
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: SQL error

The config file looks fine to me.

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,142
Thanks: 998
Fixes: 403
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: SQL error

I've passed this to the relevant team so they can investigate further.

We'll update you as soon as we know more

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 82
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: SQL error

I'm beginning to suspect my database has gone AWOL as others have reported. (I am very much a novice at this)

Although SQL Manager shows it as an available database I cannot login to it from the manager, should have tried that the other day but I assumed if it was listed it must be there...

Also the databases folder contains a folder with the relevant name but that folder is empty?

knowdice
Grafter
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎25-04-2008

Re: SQL error

I'm seeing the same, so you are not the only one.

We have a "backup" server so just moved across to that

geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 82
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: SQL error

Any updates on this?

MasterOfReality
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,640
Thanks: 275
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: SQL error

Hi @geehawk 

 

I've bumped the ticket that @MatthewWheeler sent to the Net Ops team. 

 

Apologies for the time this is taking, but thanks for the continued patience you are showing.

 

Kind Regards, 

Alisdair 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 82
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: SQL error

@MasterOfReality@MatthewWheeler 

I've just been notified that the ticket has been closed.

I see that our networks team are investigating this as part of the forum thread you have created. This is the best to place to keep this as our community and more experienced agents will be looking at this.

Therefore, not to complicate matters, I will close this ticket in favor of the forum.


Kind regards,

David Hough

As far as I can tell the only investigations that may or not be taking place are as a direct result of the ticket being raised. I suspect that the closing of the ticket will in fact result in even less action than I've seen this week, given that the staff in this thread were using that ticket to chase up this issue.

Can you tell my patience is running out Sad

 

 

MasterOfReality
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,640
Thanks: 275
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: SQL error

@geehawk - I can see this from our side as well.... I'm investigating now. 

 

Bear with me

 

 - MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team