cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

FIXED
DdAaNn
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

Hi,

Hoping someone can provide some assistance/feedback here.

I've recently become aware that my (and I presume your) account username is publicly viewable to anyone who knows your IP address. Pretty concerning when your username is your full name as is my case...

For example, if you head over to ip-tracker.org your username is completely visible on the 'Host Address' field as USERNAME@plus.com.

Obviously this is a pretty big security/privacy issue, I can't even find anyway to change my username so it is not my full name.

Does anyone have any experience with this or how we can fix it? I saw a similar thread which recommended this link, however it just leads to a generic support page.

EDIT: As far as I am aware I am on a dynamic IP (I don't pay for a static IP anyway). I've tested this externally as well to make sure it is not only visible when viewing from within my PlusNet account.

Thanks

37 REPLIES 37
jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,613
Thanks: 5,226
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

 AFAIK those on dynamic addresses are not exposed, and if you wish to change if you are on a fixed IP - by choice - a request posted on here will get picked up and actioned.

John
DdAaNn
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

Thanks for your feedback.

 

As far as I am aware I am on a dynamic IP - I certainly do not pay for a static IP anyway.

If someone is able to pick this up and remove my personal details that would be great.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,613
Thanks: 5,226
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

Unfortunately, I am no longer a Plusnet customer, but from memory when I was, those on dynamic addresses were definitely not identified by user name - it was something like 'your IP-dyndns.something generic', but I can't remember. Maybe a Community member who is a PN customer can advise.

John
DdAaNn
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

Thanks John, appreciate your assistance. 

 

Seems something has definitely changed because I am on a dynamic IP and my username is definitely visible. Seems like a strange way for PN to have this set up really.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,613
Thanks: 5,226
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

I'll tag a couple of the Super users for advice, but it may not get picked up until tomorrow - if we are lucky.

 

@Townman  /  @MisterW ?

John
RPMozley
Pro
Posts: 1,339
Thanks: 83
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

How long have you been with PlusNet?
I ask because legacy accounts usually have fixed IP for free. Also there is no monthly fee for fixed, it’s a one off charge.
That's RPM to you!!
jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,613
Thanks: 5,226
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

Cheers, @RPMozley . Did you get a fixed IP by default? I joined about 10 years ago and was always on a dynamic.

John
Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 517
Thanks: 182
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

@DdAaNn 

I have just tried the link that you gave in your first post.

I don't see any reference to "Host Address", or my Plusnet Username.

What I do see though is a field named "Hostname", which has an IP address beginning 141 and ending with .dyn.plus.net

That 141.xxx.xxx.xx IP address is not the one showing currently on my router, which is begins 80.xxx.xxx.xxx

I do not have a static IP address.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,613
Thanks: 5,226
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

Cheers to you too, @Mr_Paul  - that's what I had all the years I was a PN customer.

John
RPMozley
Pro
Posts: 1,339
Thanks: 83
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

@jab1 It might have been default, can’t remember exactly if I had to switch it on or not, it was many years ago.
That's RPM to you!!
DdAaNn
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

Thanks for the feedback guys.

 

@RPMozley I think this must be the case for me then, I've been with PN for a long time (I'd guess maybe 10years or more) so it must be grandfathered in on my account.

@Mr_Paul This is what I see, obviously I blanked my Username and IP out in this case.

 

IP.jpg

 

@jab1 Thanks again for all your help/feedback with this.

 

Hopefully someone with the power at Plusnet can help/fix this.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,494
Thanks: 5,111
Fixes: 413
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

@DdAaNn 

You. must have been given a fixed IP address at some time. If you don’t want one the easy solution is simply to ask for this to be changed to dynamic.


Moderators Note

This topic has been moved from Broadband to Everything Else

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

DdAaNn
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎17-12-2022

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

Hi @Baldrick1,

Thanks.

I'm not actually against having a static IP, I just didn't know I had one. I could actually make use of a static IP now I know its available.

I am against my username (and therefore full name) tied to my IP in a public space though - is there a way to remove the username whilst keeping the static IP?

 

Thanks 

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 22,725
Thanks: 9,446
Fixes: 151
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Plusnet Username publicly visible via IP Locators

From inspecting my referrals I think I can be confident in stating that only static IP address accounts are resolvable as account.plus.com

By default the rDNS of a static IP address is the same as the URL which resolves to the address … which is usually a desirable security confirmation characteristic. The issue then arises where someone has used clearly personally identifiable information as their account name … they think that the security affirmation characteristic of rDNS is in itself a security concern.

Account names cannot be changed, however the rDNS of a fixed IP address can be changed - usually to ip-address.plus.com

A request here for that to be changed is usually picked up by the staff.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.