cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Protect to Norton?

amuckelt32
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎19-10-2011

Plusnet Protect to Norton?

I note that BT are offering Norton as their security software. Will Plusnet be offering the same and moving away from McAfee?

13 REPLIES 13
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,826
Thanks: 5,264
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

@amuckelt32 

BT branded Retail services and Plusnet operate as separate companies with a different range of services, hardware and pricing structure. Why would they offer the same Internet Security software?

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

amuckelt32
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎19-10-2011

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

Thanks for your helpful reply

 

amuckelt32
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎19-10-2011

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

Well, well as I assumed would happen the move to Norton has happened!

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,596
Thanks: 6,660
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

I had an email today as well
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
agedgopher
All Star
Posts: 491
Thanks: 306
Fixes: 15
Registered: ‎02-12-2016

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

I have just checked my account because it is billing day today. \in the add-on section Norton is offered instead of McAfee.

kissinuk
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-04-2008

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?


@Baldrick1 wrote:

@amuckelt32 

BT branded Retail services and Plusnet operate as separate companies with a different range of services, hardware and pricing structure. Why would they offer the same Internet Security software?

 


Hmm, sadly that last question hasn't aged well. My main issue with this is that after 2 years it looks like it's no longer included for free.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,596
Thanks: 6,660
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

Yes, noticed that too. Not great.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 1,315
Fixes: 83
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

Says free on my account, still up to seven devices.
Seems an improvement as supports more than just windows pc.
Edit Not that I'll be taking the offer up
kissinuk
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-04-2008

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

From the email I received:

"...free of charge for the next 2 years and after that Norton will get in touch with details on how you can renew the service."

But yes, the mobile offering is a plus.
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,596
Thanks: 6,660
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

Plus password manager etc.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
greygit
Rising Star
Posts: 196
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-11-2021

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

I think it happened about a week ago. I checked up via the PN website about then and noticed it but decided not to say anything.

greygit
Rising Star
Posts: 196
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-11-2021

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

It happened on or before 31st May

 

From - Tue, 31 May 2022 09:21:42 GMT
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00800000
X-Mozilla-Keys:                                                                                 
Message-ID: <redacted>
Date: Tue, 31 May 2022 10:21:41 +0100
MIME-Version: 1.0
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:91.0) Gecko/20100101
 Thunderbird/91.8.0
Content-Language: en-GB
To: redacted
From: redacted
Subject: Plusnet add-ons
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit

It used to be McAfee

now...

"Plusnet Protect powered by Nortonâ„¢ (included)"

Well, that's changed in the past day or three.

 

pwilliams62
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎29-11-2016

Re: Plusnet Protect to Norton?

When installing Norton to replace McAfee in Plusnet Protect I advise starting on an administrator account.

Often, if I install new programs on my local account and administrator rights are required, I just get a pop-up to enter the password or pin. This did not happen when I tried installing Norton from the Plusnet message.

I started on a local account on my main computer and had to stop when told to switch to my administrator account. I completed the installation on the administrator account but when I went back to the local account the original paused installation continued on and created a different Norton product number to that on the administrator account. Similarly, when I installed Norton on my second computer I had a third different product number. This confused me because I should have one product No with "licence 1 of 7", "licence 2 of 7" and "licence 3 of 7". I found the setup and initial use very confusing and believe we should have been provided with more detailed instructions or a tutorial.

The confusion continued when Norton kept asking me to download protection every time I logged in and I ended up with four NortonNSDownloader.exe, (1), (2) and (3). Then there was the confusion around Google Chrome extensions. I kept getting offered Norton Safe Web and Norton Safe Search even after I had already installed them. Safe Search is easy to understand but I have failed to distinguish between that and Safe Web.

Norton Power Eraser is easy to understand but I have given up on Norton Insight and Diagnostic Report. I have no idea what to do with these. Do we have to keep applying these various system scans to protect our PCs or is the system monitored continuously during use?

I picked "Open" next to the down arrow and got "You are protected" but next to it there is "Internet Security" - Not set up. Confusing!