cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2007

'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Further to my post of a few hours ago (c.f. 'ftp via plusnet connection only?', I am now at home and STILL having no luck connecting to (let alone uploading to) ftp.plus.net.
- I AM using my correct username*
- I AM using the correct password*
* I know this because the instructions state I should use the same credentials I use to access webmail. I am and I can access webmail fine.
I'm using 'LeapFTP' as my ftp client but I've allso tried dosFTP just to be sure. They both end up saying the same thing ('Login incorrect - connection attempt failed')
Any ideas, please?
8 REPLIES 8
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

try ftp2.plus.net
grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Quote from: Peter
try ftp2.plus.net

No luck with that, Peter, but thanks anyway.
I note on my 'My Account - My Webspace' page it states, 'You can upload to your webspace 12 hours after signing up.' My Plusnet account only became active yesterday but, from the way it is phrased, I would have thought that statement meant '12 hours from the date you sign up' (i.e. therefore, in my case, several weeks ago!)
Why is nothing ever easy?
Kelly
Hero
Posts: 5,491
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

It might be that the scripts which set up ftp space etc haven't run yet.  One of the comms guys will likely clarify for you tomorrow.
Kelly Dorset
Ex-Broadband Service Manager
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

I've given things a kick, can you give it 4 hours and try again later please.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Adam1V
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Quote from: grumpybob

* I know this because the instructions state I should use the same credentials I use to access webmail. I am and I can access webmail fine.
Any ideas, please?

That may not be necessarly true depending on your setup.
It should be just your ISP Username + that password.
I have numerous mailboxes, and people access their webmail as
Username: ISPUsername+MailboxName
Password: Mailbox Password
So in that instance what you've said there is not correct.
I assume you are actually entering your ISP username + password in and not the webmail password details if its different?
grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Quote from: Chris
I've given things a kick, can you give it 4 hours and try again later please.

All seems to be working now, thanks Chris. I didn't wait the full 4 hours before giving it a try (typical bloody user! Never do what they're told!) but, wahtever you did seems to have done the trick.
grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Censored! It was only a 'blood' with a 'y' on the end! Cheesy
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Thanks for letting me know, percussive maintenance tends to do the trick Wink
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.