cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

ad47uk
Grafter
Posts: 110
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎20-04-2015

Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

Where I live we have an alt network doing full fibre, I also think that openreach is doing their full fibre.  My contract for Plusnet ends in 12 months, so i presume by then openreach fibre will be available here by then.  I did think about going for full fibre, but to be honest i really don't see the point, all the mucking around just  for a bit more speed.  Talk Talk is pushing people to full fibre, is Plusnet going to do that?
I realise that in time we will have little choice, but I really don't want to pay stupid amounts for something I really don't need.

34 REPLIES 34
RobPN
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,087
Thanks: 2,650
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

@ad47uk 

FTTP is not just about speed, it's far more reliable structurally and less not affected by sources of interference outside your control which your present DSL service delivered over an old fashioned copper (if you're lucky and don't have aluminium) line can be.

If you're happy with your present speed you're not forced to pay 'stupid amounts' to upgrade, just go for a product in the same speed category that you're on now and the price would probably be roughly similar.

ad47uk
Grafter
Posts: 110
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎20-04-2015

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

@RobPN

 

I know that FTTP is not just about speed, but the way internet providers go about it, you would think it was.  i have looked at different providers that do FTTP and they don't seem to advertise their lower speed packages or maybe they do and stick it in with their FTTC, which will confuse people.

I have no problem with my connection, i did a few years ago, but it is fine now.

It is the hassle I don't want, the drilling, more sockets being used and more cables. I want to try and tidy up the cables I have got.
You say probably roughly the same, so I will still be paying more for something I don't need.

cameldazzler
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎23-07-2014

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

the old copper network is being retired, so yes it will all go to fttp, 2026 is the target. 

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,458
Thanks: 5,093
Fixes: 411
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?


@ad47uk wrote:

 

It is the hassle I don't want, the drilling, more sockets being used and more cables. I want to try and tidy up the cables I have got.
You say probably roughly the same, so I will still be paying more for something I don't need.


Things move on and land based communications are slowly moving from the late 19th/early 20th century into the 21st. That will not stop. The plan is that in the next few years your telephone connection will be transferred from the old PSTN service to the Internet by Openreach regardless of whether you have a copper or fibre connection.

I don’t know if TT is ‘forcing’ customers to move to FTTP or you are confused and what they are doing is encouraging new customers to move to the Internet based telephone service, I believe that this is the the Sky default configuration.

I would have thought that having the old copper based cabling removed and a new fibre connection, possibly brought in to your property at a more convenient location would be a good opportunity to tidy up your internal wiring.

I don’t understand your comment that by paying about the same for what you have now is a disadvantage. Does this mean that you currently need to take a slower service?

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,454
Thanks: 6,615
Fixes: 1,482
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Full Fibre to Everything Else

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
pjmarsh
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 4,024
Thanks: 1,570
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

@Baldrick1, I read the other day that TalkTalk are doing a pilot for moving existing customers to FTTP, with 3 different letters being sent out to a subset of customers.  1 as an opt-in, 1 as an opt-out and 1 just saying they are doing it.

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,175
Thanks: 606
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?


@cameldazzler wrote:

the old copper network is being retired, so yes it will all go to fttp, 2026 is the target. 


Copper is NOT being retired (yet). PSTN is being retired by 2026.

That means everyone will need to be switched to a VoIP phone - that can (and for many people will) still run over copper.

VoIP can run over FTTP, FTTC, ADSL, or 4G/5G.

Copper will be fully retired in probably >30 years.

ad47uk
Grafter
Posts: 110
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎20-04-2015

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

I have read that it is the  voice that is being retired, the old copper network will still be staying.

 

ad47uk
Grafter
Posts: 110
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎20-04-2015

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?


@Baldrick1 wrote:

@ad47uk wrote:

 

It is the hassle I don't want, the drilling, more sockets being used and more cables. I want to try and tidy up the cables I have got.
You say probably roughly the same, so I will still be paying more for something I don't need.


Things move on and land based communications are slowly moving from the late 19th/early 20th century into the 21st. That will not stop. The plan is that in the next few years your telephone connection will be transferred from the old PSTN service to the Internet by Openreach regardless of whether you have a copper or fibre connection.

I don’t know if TT is ‘forcing’ customers to move to FTTP or you are confused and what they are doing is encouraging new customers to move to the Internet based telephone service, I believe that this is the the Sky default configuration.

I would have thought that having the old copper based cabling removed and a new fibre connection, possibly brought in to your property at a more convenient location would be a good opportunity to tidy up your internal wiring.

I don’t understand your comment that by paying about the same for what you have now is a disadvantage. Does this mean that you currently need to take a slower service?

 


I know things move on, but the change to fibre is more about openreach saving money.
Talk Talk as someone have posted is sending out letters to their customers where FTTP is available, some of these letters are telling the customers they are being moved to fibre. I'm just wondering if plusnet is looking at the same idea, at the moment we don't have fibre here, but I have seen Openreach here as well as zzoomm and openreach seems to be doing something to the poles, and some of them in the next street now have loops of fibre hanging down. So i presume they are doing their network at the same time as zzoomm. typical, get none and then get two fibre networks at the same time.


openreach puts the fibre down the same way as the copper as far as i know, so surly ot will follow the same route? The only advantage is that I would be able to have a longer Ethernet cable from the ONT and have the router where I like.

As for price, I pay £24 a month for around 36Mb/s, i can't get any faster, even if I wanted to, for me that is fine, what I don't want to do is pay more for a faster speed I don't require.

All I wanted to know is will plusnet try to force people onto fibre? I have 12 months left on my contract, I will no doubt renew it at the end of the contract as long as Plusnet leave me alone.


ad47uk
Grafter
Posts: 110
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎20-04-2015

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?


@corringham wrote:

@cameldazzler wrote:

the old copper network is being retired, so yes it will all go to fttp, 2026 is the target. 


Copper is NOT being retired (yet). PSTN is being retired by 2026.

That means everyone will need to be switched to a VoIP phone - that can (and for many people will) still run over copper.

VoIP can run over FTTP, FTTC, ADSL, or 4G/5G.

Copper will be fully retired in probably >30 years.



i saw something about this, when I was having a look this morning, I don't think I will worry what is happening in 30 years.

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,126
Thanks: 979
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

The copper between Exchanges and their cabinets is being retired. The copper from cabinets to properties is being retained to supply digital services unless FTTP is provided.

 

Brian

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,126
Thanks: 979
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?

@ad47uk 

You can check OR fibre plans for your property here

https://www.openreach.com/

 

Brian

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,175
Thanks: 606
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?


@bmc wrote:

The copper between Exchanges and their cabinets is being retired. The copper from cabinets to properties is being retained to supply digital services unless FTTP is provided.

 

 That's the case for FTTC connections. ADSL connections will continue to have copper all the way back to the exchange - until it is replaced by FTTP (which for lots of ADSL areas may be some years away...)

ad47uk
Grafter
Posts: 110
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎20-04-2015

Re: Is plusnet going to do a Talk Talk and force people to FTTP?


@bmc wrote:

The copper between Exchanges and their cabinets is being retired. The copper from cabinets to properties is being retained to supply digital services unless FTTP is provided.

 

Brian


Openreach spent a lot of money not that many years ago providing FTC here, which was a great improvement on my ADSL, which was around 3Mb/s if I was lucky, which is why I changed to a wireless network service, until that went belly up and by that time FTTC was here.  So yes I would be surprised if they got rid of FTTC that quickly.

There may be people like myself who are happy with they have and may not want more equipment and holes drilled in their house.