Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Home lab

Halfhidden
Dabbler
Fixes: 1

Home lab

I'm looking to join Plusnet with full fibre as I've had FTTP since 2014 and even BT think I haven't.

Right I run a home lab consisting of a couple of Dell servers. One has my own domain server that runs a history website for me and the other runs an email server and Nextcloud.
I'm signing up for residential as none of the stuff I do is commercial in the fact that I don't charge for it and I'm a chef by trade. Although the website is available for all to enjoy.
In order for me to move I would need at least a single static ip and I'm guessing that Plusnet is dynamic by default. Also for emails to work I would need to set up rdns because my email server uses my domain.

Is any of this possible?

21 REPLIES 21
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Re: Home lab

A single static ip is available for a one off charge of £5. It can't be requested until the account is active though, and will take a day or so to change from dynamic. Once the static is active you can request rDNS to be changed, again it will take a day or so I'm afraid.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

bmc
Hero
Fixes: 48

@Halfhidden 

Have you checked to see if the system thinks you can get FTTP? Either see if PN offer Full Fibre at your address or use the following - you're looking for WBC FTTP in the left hand column.

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

Brian

Halfhidden
Dabbler

Thanks MisterW,

That's perfectly ok as the website and emails are all for personal use so it really doesn't matter if the IP takes a day or so. To be honest dns takes 72 hours sometimes.
It's a great hobby and I enjoy hosting my own site and Nextcloud.

Halfhidden
Dabbler

Thanks bmc,