cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Spell checker?

FIXED
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,528
Thanks: 1,885
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Spell checker?

I think this has been mentioned before, but I can't find the post - the automatic spell-checker (which highlighted possible errors while typing) seems to have been removed since the last Khorus update - why?

I appreciate there is still the manual option - IF you expand the toolbar - but not everyone will know this.

John
33 REPLIES 33
Pro
Posts: 377
Thanks: 138
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎31-05-2017

Re: Spell checker?

My spill chucker works a treat 😂😂😂😂
Hero
Posts: 4,938
Thanks: 1,690
Fixes: 30
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Spell checker?


@jab1 wrote:

I appreciate there is still the manual option


...but even then, a right click doesn't offer likely corrections, as in the Firefox browser or MS Word.

On most sites, the Firefox checker woks fine, so why not here? 

The older I get, the earlier it gets late.

ADSL2+   Billion 8800NL
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,528
Thanks: 1,885
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Spell checker?

@198kHz I intentionally mis-spelt words in my OP, and did get the correct spelling, but as you say, most sites work fine with the FF dictionary, auto-highlighting errors, as did this site prior to the 'update'

John
Hero
Posts: 4,938
Thanks: 1,690
Fixes: 30
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Spell checker?


@jab1 wrote:

I intentionally mis-spelt words in my OP, and did get the correct spelling...


I was wondering why I didn't, but I do now - never thought to try a left click. D'oh!  🙄 

The older I get, the earlier it gets late.

ADSL2+   Billion 8800NL
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 16,726
Thanks: 6,878
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Spell checker?

I suspect that it is all conencted with the hash-up Lithium have made with the embedded TinyMCE editor with @JonoH has been trying to get them to fix for a while now.  TinyMCE can be configured to use the browser spell checker - I suspect it is turned off.

For the so called "best in the industry" they have made a right hash of the user interface.

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,528
Thanks: 1,885
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Spell checker?

@Townman Thanks for that information - I'd forgotten about that foul-up.

It can't be that hard to turn back on, surely - it was working just prior to the latest 'update'.

John
Rising Star
Posts: 114
Thanks: 37
Registered: ‎19-08-2018

Re: Spell checker?

"Grammarly" is a good option on Windows.

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,528
Thanks: 1,885
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Spell checker?

Thanks for the suggestion, but I don't need it - the spell-checker is still there, just slightly 'hidden' and not automatic as it was before the last 'upgrade' to the core functions of the forum.

John
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 16,726
Thanks: 6,878
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Spell checker?

Just had an update elsewhere that someone has found a setting which could be tweaked... under the appropriate change control.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,936
Thanks: 743
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Spell checker?

Oooh I see the manual spell checker has returned .. let's see if it works.

It does, I did prefer the original UI though before it was removed. At least it only underlines words which have already been checked by it.

Doesn't seem a bad idea, and better than nothing. Also you can the red underlining off if you click the spelling icon again which I like as the red underlining as you type really gets on my nerves.

First post since using it, but impressed so far.

 

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,528
Thanks: 1,885
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Spell checker?


@Townman wrote:
Just had an update elsewhere that someone has found a setting which could be tweaked... under the appropriate change control.

Well, I wish someone would tweak it - my spelling is not bad, but as I'm not a touch typist, if I type a long post I sometimes 'mistype' and miss errors on a quick proof-read.

John
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,177
Thanks: 1,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Spell checker?

Fix

Apologies for any inconvenience this has been causing.

The spellchecker on the community forums should now be set to use your browser spellchecker.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,528
Thanks: 1,885
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Spell checker?

Okey dokey @HarryB  - I think it's working, but I'll reserve judgement until I can check later with a longer post.

John
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,990
Thanks: 2,417
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Spell checker?

Thanks @HarryB   done a couple of quick checks and it seems fine.