cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC not going to happen... what are my alternatives for something faster?

markm

FTTC not going to happen... what are my alternatives for something faster?

I'm in London, on Commercial Street just by Spitalfields Market. Pretty darn central. My local exchange, Bishopsgate, is now "taking orders" for Fibre. I've been watching contractors pulling cables around the place, and have been trying to find out when my local one will be enabled. Finally got an email through today from OpenReach. A fine example of obfuscation but the gist of it is "we're not going to do your cabinet, it's not worth it".
I make videos. That's what I do for a living. My clients want me to upload things to YouTube and Vimeo. My ADSL+ upload speed is 0.36Mbps. It's so slow it's painful. I want something much faster. Apparently I'm not going to be getting Fibre. What other alternatives are there?
Here's that email, just for fun.
Dear Sir,