cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upstream SNRM

pvmb
Pro
Posts: 646
Thanks: 79
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Upstream SNRM

My upstream SNRM is going all over the place (went down to 1 dB), currently showing as ~4dB. Downstream remaining pretty constant at ~6 dB. Been an earlier disconnection, often sudden rise in errors on incoming landline phone calls.

Just the normal rubbish or anything in particular?

Any opinions?

6 REPLIES 6
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,734
Thanks: 5,760
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Upstream SNRM

@pvmb Not something I've seen very often - it's usually the D/S that plays up - but have you run a QLT/noticed noise on calls?

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,951
Thanks: 5,330
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Upstream SNRM

@pvmb 

Have you tried a different filter? Alternatively as @jab1 says do a quiet line test by ringing 17070 and selecting option 2. If there's any noise report a phone not broadband fault.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

pvmb
Pro
Posts: 646
Thanks: 79
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Re: Upstream SNRM

Large spike in upstream errors on incoming calls.

Probably just the usual - the master socket. Always the weakest link.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,734
Thanks: 5,760
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Upstream SNRM

@pvmb Have you tried the QLT and change of filter suggestions?

John
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,293
Thanks: 9,783
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Upstream SNRM


@pvmb wrote:

Large spike in upstream errors on incoming calls.

Probably just the usual - the master socket. Always the weakest link.


Actually it could well be the exchange line card.

ADSL being dropped on incoming call is not an uncommon fault.  Please run the phone line fault checker (link below).

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

pvmb
Pro
Posts: 646
Thanks: 79
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Re: Upstream SNRM

Forgot about this!

In the end did the usual: 'Decoked' the connections on the Main socket/consumer plate.

Needs a regular service to keep it going. Used to this by now.