Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow upload speed

Polaris1
Dabbler

Slow upload speed

Hi,

For the last couple of days or so my upload speed has been extremely slow, whereas the download speed seems OK.  I'm on unlimited fibre and my download speed has been around 37-38Mb since March 21 when I had it installed.  The upload speed has been around 9-10Mb, whereas the last couple of days it has been <1Mb, yesterday the speed test showed 0.25kb!!

Is there anything that can be done to test whether there is a fault externally?  I have rebooted my computer/router and tested with a wired connection, with no improvement.  From my point of view, nothing has changed.

Any help/suggestions would be much appreciated as I am not very technical. Thanks.

Caroline

22 REPLIES 22
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 255

Re: Slow upload speed

Good morning Caroline. That sounds strange, but there is little that can be done with regards to upload speeds, these are not guaranteed by ISPs.

Can you post a screenshot of the 'Advance Diagnostic' tab from here: https://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ , please?

John
Polaris1
Dabbler

Hi,

Thanks for getting back to me - I'm at work at the moment so I won't be able to do anything until I get back later tonight (sorry, weird working hours).

At least it's not painfully slow trying to post from here!

Caroline

jab1
Legend

OK - I'm around until about 9PM, or back early in the morning.

John
Polaris1
Dabbler

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is what you want (Word file attached)?

Caroline

jab1
Legend

That's what I wanted, thanks, but unfortunately, as they 'encountered a problem' with Advanced Diagnostic, it merely confirms your observations, without the additional information the full Advanced Diagnostic would supply. I can't say much more without the extra detail, but I find it strange - usually if there is a problem with speed, it is visible on the download, with the upload remaining constant.