cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

mrluke
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2023

Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Just changed over from BT to Plusnet . The transition was pretty good , But ! my speeds are exactly the same 21-23mbit .

 

My line speed when i first joined BT was around 35mbit  ( Which then when down and down )

 

I assumed when i joined plusnet they would do a DLM reset on the line to assess the speed the line is capable of .

 

My Line is pretty simple . Copper straight into the BT NTE5c Mk4 , and from there straight into the Hub 2. No internal  phonelines are connected in my house.

 

I run the Hub2 in "Bridge" mode and then straight into my router ( Ubiquiti UDM Pro ) . The speed is still an issue even when just using the router without being in "Bridge Mode" ( so i know its not my setup ).

 

Is someone able to do a DLM reset on my line please ? so i can obtain a better speed.

 

Thanks

Luke

 

 

 

 

20 REPLIES 20
mrluke
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2023

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Heres my line stats . Says on there the max observed speed is 27mbit from today ( Which i dont believe is correct ) ALso states my upload speed has been observed at 5mbit, which to be honest i seem to be getting slightly higher.

 

stats.png

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 554
Fixes: 97
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Hey there @mrluke just done a DLM reset now for you to see if it helps. I couldn't see what it was showing at from our side so I just reset it to 6dB.

 

Let me know how it performs from there.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
mrluke
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2023

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Thanks , Will check over the next few days to see if there is any increase.

 

Many thanks

Luke

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 554
Fixes: 97
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Awesome I will get back to you on Monday.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
SammyM
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,914
Thanks: 414
Fixes: 96
Registered: ‎22-01-2018

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Hiya @mrluke

 

Will is off today and has asked me to check in with you, how's the connection been? 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Sammy M - Sheffield Team
 Plusnet Help Team
mrluke
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2023

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Thanks for the followup .

Sadly no speed increase, the connection seems stable but hasn't budged an inch on speed.

Could this be a line problem ?

Thanks
Luke
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,726
Thanks: 1,402
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

@mrluke Have you powered down the router and restarted it so the line resyncs, you may find the speed is better.

mrluke
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2023

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Thanks for the info.

 

Just rebooted the modem,

 

A moderate increase on the download speed, an increase from 22-23mbit to 25mbit.

 

As i have the hub in modem mode i cant see the sync speed sadly.

 

 

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,533
Thanks: 1,143
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

As I have the hub in modem mode i cant see the sync speed sadly.

It is possible to retrieve the line stats from a Hub Two in bridge mode.

You need a a PC running Windows or Linux importantly a wired network connection and a Cat5e cable.

If you have I'll provide the details tomorrow

Dan.

mrluke
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2023

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Dan , Is that directly connectings my pc to one of the lan ports , Setting the pcs ip address manually and trying to connect to 192.168.1.254 ?

 

 

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,533
Thanks: 1,143
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Yes, that's the way to do it.

You go to Advanced Settings >Technical Log >Information. you can all also view the event logs,

Note the log starts from 01 Oct as in bridge mode the NTP server is unreachable

HTH 

mrluke
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2023

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Thanks , in the end it was quicker for me to put it back in router mode.

 

Seems im getting the exact minimum download speed as stated by plusnet ? Has this been capped ?

 

It states in my broadband speed email

 

Minimum Guaranteed Speed: 27.4Mb

But states also peak download rates

Download: 31 - 45Mb

 

how am i able to get this if im capped at 27.4 ?

Untitled-1.png

csmith94
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 370
Thanks: 138
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Hi @mrluke 

 

Checking over your line, the DLM reset Will put through doesn't seem to have taken and nothing has been updated. What I'm doing is putting this through again as your line in general is fine with no faults. 

 

Give it a day or two and check the speeds, if nothing is improving then we might need to get an engineer out to you

 

 

 Curtis Smith
 Plusnet Help Team
mrluke
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2023

Re: Slow Speed DLM Line Reset

Thanks Curtis , Does the modem require a reboot ? or just leave it running.