cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre Broadband drop out

FIXED
Wrootbill
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2018

Fibre Broadband drop out

Using Hub2

Last night my connection dropped at midnight. could not re-connect. The phone worked but no connection to the internet.

This has happened a few times.

I did the off and on thing to no avail

How do I resolve?

 

 

 

30 REPLIES 30
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,131
Thanks: 3,876
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

@Wrootbill What light(s) do you have on the Hub2?

John
Wrootbill
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2018

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

From BT broadband for info

Wrootbill
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2018

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

Red, but blue now because it has re-connected this morning but would not re-connect last night

 

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,131
Thanks: 3,876
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

So you are now back up and running?

John
Wrootbill
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2018

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

I am back up and running but I am trying to understand what happened as this is not the first time this has occured

 

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,131
Thanks: 3,876
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

How often has it happened? Can you post the output from the WAN tab of your event log?

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,596
Thanks: 4,317
Fixes: 344
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out


@Wrootbill wrote:

Red, but blue now because it has re-connected this morning but would not re-connect last night


Did you try a factory reset by pushing a paperclip or similar in the reset hole, keepimg the switch closed until the light turned green?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 20,098
Thanks: 8,199
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

Fix

What time did this go off / get restored?

There is every possibility that BT Wholesale were undertaking major maintenance in the area.  I saw this happen on a couple of nights a few weeks back.  This is a really useful resource - Zen Broadband Status

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,131
Thanks: 3,876
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

That was one major thought in my mind, too. A very useful resource as well.

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,596
Thanks: 4,317
Fixes: 344
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out


@Townman wrote:

There is every possibility that BT Wholesale were undertaking major maintenance in the area. 


I would have expected this to result in a solid Orange light, not a Red one.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,131
Thanks: 3,876
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

Until the OP comes back with more information - if they do - we are speculating. I think there is more to this than we have been told.

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,596
Thanks: 4,317
Fixes: 344
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

To my simple mind the red light is associated with the hub firmware getting itself screwed up, typically through a Watchdog Error (0x3). If on a factory reset it started again and restored the connection then that would suggest that whilst it might have been a glitch on the network it might also be an intermittent fault developing in the hub. If on a hub reset the light stayed orange then that would indicate that the DSL connection was down.

That's without speculating the cause of the OP's problem, simply spelling out the options as I understand them.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,131
Thanks: 3,876
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

@Baldrick1 I can see roughly where you are coming from, but at no point did the OP suggest they had done a reboot/reset of the Hub, merely stating that it was 'back to blue this morning', leaving me (and @Townman ) to 'blame' a network issue (failure/maintenance/w.h.y.). Unfortunately unless the OP comes back with more detail, we are wasting our time on speculation.

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,596
Thanks: 4,317
Fixes: 344
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Fibre Broadband drop out

@jab1 

Maybe it’s just my geeks interest in hubs. I agree that the OP did not factory reset the hub, but if they had it would have told them whether the cause could be a lengthy network outage. I am interested in whether there was a reported outage as the nugget of knowledge that could be gained would be that re-establishing the service can reset the hub and clear the watchdog or other detected internal fault error. I would assume that a red light would normally trigger the hub to automatically reset when if there was no DSL connection the hub would show orange.

@bobpullen  can you expand my knowledge?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'