cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Speedtest can't run?

Moominfish
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎19-03-2010

BT Speedtest can't run?

I've been trying to run a speedtest all day and constantly keep getting this message "The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider." just wondering if anyone else experiences this ever?
Maybe Plusnet might know when they get in tomorrow morning? Because it does say if this problem persists raise the issue with your service provider, and I'd think what with it not being to run all day it would come under the heading "persistent problem".  Shocked
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

I use this link http://217.35.209.142/ and it worked
Moominfish
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎19-03-2010

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

Okay will try that and see how I get on, thx Jim Smiley
EDIT: Just tried that link and got same message? Does it run for you Jim?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

yes - worked for me.
At which stage did it fail
Moominfish
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎19-03-2010

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

It failed almost instantly after I entered my phone number, it said checking details then roughly 10 seconds later it came up with the failed message, it's been like it all day.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

can't help I'm afraid - better leave it until morning and try again
W1ngD1ngs
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎17-09-2009

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

@Oldjim,  I have been having problems with the BT speed tester for a long time on my W7 box, altough it runs on my XP box.  I was using http://www.speedtester.bt.com/ and gett the results in the format:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 871Kbps
Acceptable range of speeds is 400-2000 Kbps.
DSL Connection Rate :1504 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
Assured Rate IP Profile for your line is - 1250Kbps
using your link  http://217.35.209.142/ I get:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 867Kbps
Acceptable range of speeds is 400-1250 Kbps.
Assured Rate IP Profile for your line is - 1250Kbps
no mention of dsl connection rate.
I am now very puzzled!
Any Mods / PN staff care to comment?  I have raised the issue in the past, I think with Matt Taylor / Bob Pullen!
AndyBa
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎25-10-2008

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

Not working for me either.
Same error as described above, on both links.
Was working fine a few days dack.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

down for me at the moment
W1ngD1ngs
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎17-09-2009

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

Believe it or not the speedtester is now working on my W7 box as well as my XP box!  Still puzzled about the two differing results:
12 Apr 2010 @ 03:07 (Belkin G Router) http://217.35.209.142/
Download speed achieved during the test was - 867Kbps
Acceptable range of speeds is 400-1250 Kbps.
Assured Rate IP Profile for your line is - 1250Kbps
PN IP Profile 1250Kbps
-----------------------------------------------------------  Undecided
12 Apr 2010 @ 11:37 (Belkin G Router) http://www.speedtester.bt.com/
Download speed achieved during the test was - 862 Kbps
Acceptable range of speeds is 400-2000 Kbps.
DSL Connection Rate :1504 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 1250 Kbps
PN IP Profile 1250Kbps
-----------------------------------------------------------  Undecided
AndyBa
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎25-10-2008

Re: BT Speedtest can't run?

Wirking again here, too.