cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VirtualBox on OSX

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

VirtualBox on OSX

I'm running Windows 7 32bit via VitualBox on Macbook, do I need to or can I even install  Windows updates  Huh
It's all a bit strange at the moment.
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

A VM is just the same as a real pc, you yes you do need to install updates IF you connect it to the net at all. If you don't then don't bother.
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,131
Thanks: 293
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

I don't bother with Windows updates on my sole copy of W7.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,005
Thanks: 2,074
Fixes: 301
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

if you're going to play and use a lot of VM's it might be worth looking at Parallels. I've been using it for 4 or 5 years and found it much superior to VirtualBox.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

I'm not sure what to do with it yet, I was looking for a quick solution for wine on osx, thanks for the tip on the updates Hairy Mcbiker, I guess i'm not looking at it as a real machine!, I love your style Foxy, I'll continue on with this one for a while dvorak and see what gives, are you using Parallels on osx ?
Can I go full screen with the VM ?
I've had a quick mooch but not found the option yet  Undecided
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,005
Thanks: 2,074
Fixes: 301
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

yeah using Parallels on OS X, have tried VirtualBox and VMWare Fusion. Sadly need a Win machine for some work stuff that doesn't run in Crossover.
Crossover could also be another option if you want to run certain bits of windows - is it anything in particular?
Parallels you can run in a window, full screen or coherence (where win apps appear as any other os x app)
CMD+F should take it full screen in virtualbox - but quite buggy iirc.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

I'm not looking at running anything drastic, just stuff I would have run in wine on my other laptop running Linux Mint, which is now way past it's end sadly, CMD+F buggy as you like.
Not sure I need to run the thing full screen, maybe looking at moving sage pay over for the good lady to use, but I need to make sure It would work and also be secure. I see the windows updates are lightening fast as normal  Roll eyes
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,005
Thanks: 2,074
Fixes: 301
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

sage seem to be pushing parallels too http://www.sageworld.com/mac_compatability.php - but should work fine under VB.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,131
Thanks: 293
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

You mean you have to pay money for parallels!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Roll eyes

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,005
Thanks: 2,074
Fixes: 301
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

well you don't *have* to..

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

Quote from: vilefoxdemonofdoom
You mean you have to pay money for parallels!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Roll eyes

Just as you have to pay for the M$ OS's running under it, and any client access licences etc etc etc.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

This has settled down quite nicely now, not sure I need the full screen to be perfectly honest. windows updates took about 6 hours! apart from that I'm happy so far.
I'm glad I retained the key from my old laptop now before consigning it to the bin, windows that is...  Smiley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,005
Thanks: 2,074
Fixes: 301
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

glad it's working well for you.. how much ram have you assigned to your VM?

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: VirtualBox on OSX

2gb ram  and 128mb video memory, I got it running full screen now as well. check 10:30 Video
Happy days....  Smiley