cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,557
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

My old Steam Iron has begun to leak, so I went to ASDA and bought a new one... ASDA Model ES267 ( £10.00 )  Bargain ! ! ... however, my old steam iron has a longer lead, (about 2 ft longer)... I would like to replace the new lead with the old lead....
Access to the old lead is quite simple,... it has two philips head screws in the (base) of the handle ( where it stands upright ).... however the new iron has a screw that needs a special screwdriver to remove it.... this screw has two slots and the screwdriver head would have two prongs of suitable size... ( a bit like circlip pliers would )... is there a special name for this kind of tool, and does anyone know where they can be bought ?
( I could just cut the leads and join them, with suitable insulation, but it would not look nice, and I think... per new electrical regs... that is now illegal... though who is going to come around and check ? ? ?  )
21 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Go to the Screwfix or Toolstation website and put in "security bit set"
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,557
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Thanks for that... Much Appreciated.
Wink
EDIT.... looks like this will do the job ....
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/33PC-SECURITY-BIT-SET-SCREWDRIVER-BIT-TOOL-HOLDER-TORX-STAR-HEX-60mm-HOLDE...
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Yup - always a handy set to have in the toolbox as well.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,809
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-10-2010

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Quote from: shutter
Thanks for that... Much Appreciated.
Wink
EDIT.... looks like this will do the job ....
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/33PC-SECURITY-BIT-SET-SCREWDRIVER-BIT-TOOL-HOLDER-TORX-STAR-HEX-60mm-HOLDE...

That doesn't lol like admit of those bits will do the job. However this set may :
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=131235615987&alt=web
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,809
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-10-2010

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Oops , just seen the postage..scratch that idea, but a set like that with the pronged security bits. I bought a large set from eBay for about £5, but I'm on my mobile so can't run back through purchase history.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,809
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-10-2010

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Here you go mate. This has the bits you need, and they're long, so you can see what you're doing.
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=201133905573&alt=web
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,557
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Well, my purchase has arrived and the prongs do fit the screw.... not done the job yet... but... hey ho !.... a rainy day will come soon enough.... then I can tackle things like that in comfort !...
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,809
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-10-2010

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

All I'm off to Specsavers..I looked at the item you linked to and I couldn't see any two pronged bits. Just looked again and I see them.
Ignore this old fool.  Crazy
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,557
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

If you need help when completing your application for renewal of driving licence at age 70..... give me a shout !.....
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,129644.0.html
Cool Grin Grin
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Your only as old as you feel, Wink So I am told Tongue
@shutter
I managed to have no coffee in hand to mouth motion as I clicked preview Wink
That is 1 keyboard saved for now Wink
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,138
Thanks: 1,568
Fixes: 11
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Quote from: shutter
Well, my purchase has arrived and the prongs do fit the screw.... not done the job yet... but... hey ho !....

In my experience removing the screws gets the easy bit of the job done!  The assembly is usually self tap screws into plastic - great as a "one off"  but a very sloppy 2nd fit.  Forever working loose.  Even SWMBO now accepts the difficulty (and associated temper tantrums  Crazy)
M
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,557
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

I shall probably replace the original screw  ( two prong ) with one of the other "proper" phillips self tappers ! ...  Wink
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,533
Thanks: 1,534
Fixes: 100
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

@shutter...if I may....On a similar theme I have recently bought a new strimmer and the cable length is pathetic, such that I need to keep a power extension handy and drag it round the garden with me.
I planned to replace the cable with a much longer one but it involves removing one side of the strimmer handle assembly.
What I might find in there and what might fall out is putting me off the project.
The assembly is held together with security screws so I will be seeking to purchase something along the lines of those mentioned above.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,557
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Steam Iron - Replace Power cord

Yes, I know what you mean... however.... simples.....
lay machine on its side..... take a photo.... remove screws..... take a photo... make a note..... remove cowling.... take a photo... make any notes.... suss out what you need to do from there... take a photo of every step.... when you have got your new lead on... you then have a record of how you go to that state...  You could put them on the laptop/computer, and then re number them in reverse order... to give you a follow through back to original state....
Alternatively.... get one of these....
http://www.diy.com/nav/fix/electrical/plugs-fuses/plugs/-specificproducttype-specialist_plugs___sock...
and extend your present lead with some extra cable.....

Simples..... Eeek !  Cheesy